Configuring Settings After Building - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2009, 11:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 42
Default Configuring Settings After Building

Hey guys, I have a question about what I will be doing after I have physically put my new rig together. I am keepig my previous hard drive, so it already has an OS installed on it as well as all of my other data. Will it really be as easy as physically plugging everyting in, and booting it up? Or will there be settings that I have to configure before booting up the PC? Since I already have an OS installed in the HD, I shouldn't have to re-install it, but what other settings will i have to tweak? Thanks!
__________________

Veregund is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 11:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Configuring Settings After Building

Well what os are you running? There are some methods you can use prior to moving the hard drive.

Ideally you would want to do a clean install on a new motherboard (due to driver issues) but if that is not an option we will see what we can come up with.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 11:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Configuring Settings After Building

beat me

i think you can also delete all the drivers that are installed for the various components from the old computer, so that when you boot up, there is no conflicting between the OS and the new hardware.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 11:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 42
Default Re: Configuring Settings After Building

Currently the OS is Windows Vista (i believe) 64bit. I think the only install disc i have is the Upgrade software, not the full start-from-scratch OS disc. Ideally, I would like to upgrade to the Windows 7 RC, since I have it on my laptop and love it, but first thing's first: I would just like to get the new rig up and running.

Also, I believe i have a Windows XP install disc (the full software, not the upgrade disc) lying around, but I wil have to double check when i get home from work. Thanks
Veregund is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 11:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: Configuring Settings After Building

The problem with using your hard drive that has your OS on it from a previous computer is that it will more than likely cause driver conflicts with your new set up. Basically, your OS and that hard drive was mapped for your previous computer and it's components. Yeah you can boot it to windows, maybe, but it will not work with your new PC without a hitch.

The best and easiest way is to use a freshly formatted hard drive when putting together a new rig. I would suggest to transfer all your data to an external drive or other means, format the drive, do a fresh OS install with your new rig, then transfer the data back to the drive.

Edit- Beat x2.
__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 11:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 42
Default Re: Configuring Settings After Building

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
beat me

i think you can also delete all the drivers that are installed for the various components from the old computer, so that when you boot up, there is no conflicting between the OS and the new hardware.
How would i go about clearing all of my drivers, and making sure they are ALL gone so as to cause no conflicts. If i can't find my OS install disc, this may be my only option
Veregund is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 11:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 42
Default Re: Configuring Settings After Building

Quote:
Originally Posted by james.wired View Post
The problem with using your hard drive that has your OS on it from a previous computer is that it will more than likely cause driver conflicts with your new set up. Basically, your OS and that hard drive was mapped for your previous computer and it's components. Yeah you can boot it to windows, maybe, but it will not work with your new PC without a hitch.

The best and easiest way is to use a freshly formatted hard drive when putting together a new rig. I would suggest to transfer all your data to an external drive or other means, format the drive, do a fresh OS install with your new rig, then transfer the data back to the drive.

Edit- Beat x2.
If i were to do this, what are the steps to do a format? I've done one in the past, but I had formatting disks that came with my PC. I don't think i have something like this, so is there a way to format the drive without factory disks?
Veregund is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 11:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Configuring Settings After Building

for vista you can use sysprep as originally shown by trotter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
You can use SYSPREP to prepare your hard drive for transfer and not have to reinstall anything. Use SYSPREP just before you are going to move your stuff over to its new home.

To use the GUI (graphical user interface), copy and paste"c:\windows\system32\sysprep\sysprep.exe" in the Start Search box. You should get something like this:



Change the Shutdown Option to Shutdown so it doesn't reboot on you. Once it shuts down, it is ready to move. When you boot it up in the new hardware, Vista will act like it has just been started up in your computer for the first time. Once you are booted you will have to install the drivers for your new hardware.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 11:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: Configuring Settings After Building

You mentioned that you would like to use Windows 7RC. I use it and it is great. Anyway, when you pop in your burned Windows 7 disc, it will provide you with different options to install itself. Choose full format or quick format. That will wipe your drive and install.

If you decide to go with your Windows XP, then you will pop the disk in and you will need to choose the full format option.

Edit: Hefe's way is much easier because you won't have to deal with wiped data. Sysrep will be the way to go in your situation...I always forget about sysrep...Hefe to the rescue
__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 11:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 42
Default Re: Configuring Settings After Building

Quote:
Originally Posted by james.wired View Post
You mentioned that you would like to use Windows 7RC. I use it and it is great. Anyway, when you pop in your burned Windows 7 disc, it will provide you with different options to install itself. Choose full format or quick format. That will wipe your drive and install.

If you decide to go with your Windows XP, then you will pop the disk in and you will need to choose the full format option.
Should i do this before i put my rig together - meaning I will have my full rig together, adn boot it up with nothing but the windows 7 client istalled on my HD?
__________________

Veregund is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building System, Stuck on Motherboard etc. rocknje New Systems | Building and Buying 33 07-12-2009 08:32 PM
Is Apple Building a Search Engine? Osiris Apple and Mac 0 11-14-2008 12:25 PM
EP45-DS3R won't allow Q9450 overclock past 3.2GHz or retain manual voltage settings mikeynavy1976 Overclocking and Modding 24 08-20-2008 02:59 AM
Overclocking an Nvidia 8600GT GPU - Clock settings jmoussa87 Overclocking and Modding 14 08-17-2008 03:06 PM
Ideal settings for my LCD screen? Forcemaster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-01-2007 06:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.