conclusion on my $1k rig tell me whacha guys think. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2005, 06:39 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jcee76
can you show me a setup that's going to pull that off.
DFI nF4 ultra-D - 130

eVGA 6800GT - 290

corsari valueselect 1GB - 90

thermaltake 420W power supply - 36

segate barracuda 80GB sata150 - 65

NEC IDE dvd burner - 40

case - 20

amd athlon 64 3700+ san diego - 260

thats 931 dollars right there, and you can save money to buy a MSI K8N NEO4-F for like 80 dollars if you dont want a DFI board. and you can upgrade the hdd to like 200GB if you like
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 08:08 AM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by turtile
Get the Nforce 4 Ultra (uses 1ghtz FSB yours has 800mhtz FSB)

480w is overkill, all you need is a 350w antec.
I'm reading here that the very motherboard he posted has 1ghtz FSB.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130491
__________________

Jayce is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 08:09 AM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kilew
For 1k surely you could get a 6800GT and at least a 3200+ processor? And yea, the hard drive sucks ***..
Does 50 dollars more justify 200 mhz more for the 3200? That's the dilemma I ran into, which is exactly why I chose the 3000.

And yea, nothing wrong with the hard drive.
Jayce is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 05:21 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
Default

K made some changes.. Let me know what you guys think..

CASE:

COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 CAC-T05-UW Black Aluminum Bezel, SECC Chassis ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
Model #: CAC-T05-UW
Item #: N82E16811119068
MOBO:

MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4-4X ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
Model #: K8N Neo4-F
Item #: N82E16813130491
CPU:

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Processor Model ADA3500BPBOX - Retail


VID CARD:


eVGA 256-P2-N376-AX Geforce 6800GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail

RAM:

OCZ Performance Series 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit System Memory - Retail
Model #: OCZ4001024PFDC-K
Item #: N82E16820227031

HDD:
Western Digital Caviar SE WD2000JD 200GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive - OEM

NEC Black 16X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 16X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2M Cache IDE DVD Burner - OEM

Model #: ND-3540A Black
Item #: N82E16827152047
In Stock
Power Supply:

Thermaltake Silent Purepower W0014RU ATX 480W Power Supply 100 - 240V - Retail
Model #: W0014RU
Item #: N82E16817153007
Speakers:


The audigy 2zs platinum sound card waiting for buy.com for this card

I'm also waiting for new eggs auto notify to send me an email that the leadtek TV tuner and the MSI nforce4 board is available =(
jcee76 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 05:26 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

u need to get a better sound card
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 11:04 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

I dont believe in sounds cards. I would recommend you try the onboard sound and if you think it sucks then buy a soundcard later. You dont have to buy it all at the same time. I do however, believe in good speakers.

Also I would suggest a dvd-rom drive, it'll make burning a lot easier.

So lets see some prices on your last list there.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 11:06 AM   #17 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

That latest edition of your build looks good! I still stand by my original statement that if you arent going to overclock, just stick with valueram, and use the saved money elsewhere.

As for your sound card, the one you picked is really good. I dont know what Amd2800 is talking about. In fact, you might even consider using onboard sound. Most new boards come with good quality 7.1 sound. If they dont come with 7.1, they come with no worse than 5.1.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 01:05 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954
FSP Group (Fortron Source) 450 Watt ATX 2.0
A cheaper PSU but much better then TT.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103939
Antec NEOHE 430 Watts ATX 2.0
and for about 40 more dollars and even Better power supply

Its got triple 12V rails @ 16 Amps Each.

Also the Antec NeoPower is always a good choice.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 03:21 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 85
Default

You could use Corsair ValueSelect
mtb2005 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 03:55 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 111
Default

I hope you are very happy with what you got!
__________________

__________________
The box said \"Requires Windows 98 or better\"....so I installed Linux. There\'s no going back.
GX1_Man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.