computer wont turn on. psu problems? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2005, 06:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
Default computer wont turn on. psu problems?

ok, today i recieved my shiny new x800 pro in the mail. i carefully took note of the instructions and followed them almost to the letter (as recently having a bad experience when not following common sense/instructions) and plugged it into my agp port. i then connected (using the extension cable given) the card to the psu, and to the hdd, exactly how it said to in the diagram... then i went to turn my computer on.


and nothing.... absolutely nothing. no power, no bios beeps no flashing lights, nothing! like i hadnt just turned the computer on at all! im extremely frustrated atm and i would appreciate any input. is it possible something is wrong with the card, and it causing like a domino effect or something? but even if the card was buggered, it should still turn ON FOR CHRISTS SAKE!!! is it possible that ive jiggled a cord lose (somehow). please help me

regards

adam
__________________

djgrunday is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 06:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

what are your sytem specs. including psu power. you may have knocked the cable for the power button so check that
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 06:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
Default

p4 2.8ghz ht enabled cpu
300w psu
80gb hdd
120gb hdd
x800 pro (hopefully, but a 9600xt originally)
win xp
djgrunday is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 06:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
Default

and how do i check the power button cord?
djgrunday is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 08:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Default

It should say where on your motherboard manual, but for me it's a bunch of little plugs on the corner of my motherboard, among them reset plugs and power plugs.

Another thing is, is your motherboard light (if it has one) on before you power up?
__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu
OCZ 1GB Platinum PC3200 Rev2 Dual Channel
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Enermax Noisetaker 485W
2 x 80GB SATA Maxtor Diamondmax 10 on RAID 0
shenlingstyle is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 06:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default

A 350W power supply is recommended for any system using that card, and from the specs you have given us, I can see your power supply is only 300W. You need a new power supply.

Search www.newegg.com for a new one. I would suggest a power supply in the neighborhood of 450-500 watts. Antec, OCZ, and Thermaltake are some good brands, just to name a few.
beardo526 is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 10:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 136
Default

Check if your computer pluged in, that was my prob lol
__________________

__________________
1GB PC3200 DDR400 RAM
Intel Pentium 4 540J HT 3.2 GHz
ASUS X800LX 256 (OC 415/500)
---------------------------------------------
3Dmark05: 4987][3Dmark03:11043
Cellbuster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.