Computer won't see my new SSD - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2015, 08:06 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: sherwell
Posts: 11
Default Re: Computer won't see my new SSD

Thanks PP. But when I checked in regedit both the start values for pciide and storahci (which is now the MSahci after Goolking after I found I had noooo Msahci!) were both already set to 0 zero.

Tried again anyway, booting up and changing to AHCI in BIOS.
- With just the SSD connected I got the black screen of death again just after the BIOS version screen. It said Reboot amd select proper boot device or insert boot media and press any key.
- With the HDD it said 'inaccessible boot drive'.
I tried my Win 10 rescue disk above with the SSD and HDD and the options there (eg. autofix, re-install windows) but no luck.

Looked like this before I switched back to IDE:



So am now back to HDD on IDE again.

Should I just give up and go for a new Windows install on the SSD from scratch? I was hping to avoid this because I ahve Win 7 upgraded to Win 10 and all the SP1 downlooads for Win 7 will take ages.

Incidentally, my external backup disk got skewed during the fiddling above and said needed formatting. I have found a recovery program for the images and content which I'm running now. Have got most of it online already but fingers crossed.
Note to self - disconnect external drives when fiddling about. Just in case...!
__________________

js6969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2015, 08:09 AM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Computer won't see my new SSD

This might help.

Solved Attn. SSD owners - Enabling AHCI mode AFTER Windows 10 installation. - Windows 10 Forums

Although trying to use recovery wasn't the wisest idea. Might have messed something up in the process.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2015, 08:26 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Computer won't see my new SSD

Quote:
Originally Posted by js6969 View Post
Thanks PP. But when I checked in regedit both the start values for pciide and storahci (which is now the MSahci after Goolking after I found I had noooo Msahci!) were both already set to 0 zero.

Tried again anyway, booting up and changing to AHCI in BIOS.
- With just the SSD connected I got the black screen of death again just after the BIOS version screen. It said Reboot amd select proper boot device or insert boot media and press any key.
- With the HDD it said 'inaccessible boot drive'.
I tried my Win 10 rescue disk above with the SSD and HDD and the options there (eg. autofix, re-install windows) but no luck.

Looked like this before I switched back to IDE:



So am now back to HDD on IDE again.

Should I just give up and go for a new Windows install on the SSD from scratch? I was hping to avoid this because I ahve Win 7 upgraded to Win 10 and all the SP1 downlooads for Win 7 will take ages.

Incidentally, my external backup disk got skewed during the fiddling above and said needed formatting. I have found a recovery program for the images and content which I'm running now. Have got most of it online already but fingers crossed.
Note to self - disconnect external drives when fiddling about. Just in case...!
To many "work arounds" happening, do a fresh install on SSD.

When you start doing work around after work around on a new SSD/ HDD, its a sign you need to call it quits and start from scratch..
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2015, 09:14 AM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Computer won't see my new SSD

Not at all, the only work around is getting it to go from IDE to AHCI. Clone drive, switch to AHCI and call it a day. Windows 10 is obviously different than 8.1 and previous Windows versions in how to change this. All the rest was his own doing which was unncessary.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2015, 01:59 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Computer won't see my new SSD

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Not at all, the only work around is getting it to go from IDE to AHCI. Clone drive, switch to AHCI and call it a day. Windows 10 is obviously different than 8.1 and previous Windows versions in how to change this. All the rest was his own doing which was unncessary.
That^ hasn't worked (and im talking about all the other workarounds he has done too) and he has reverted back to IDE and booted back in with the HDD.. He is back to the start, which is why he said weather he should just wipe it and start from scratch..

Which is why I said, to many work arounds, wipe and start from scratch...
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2015, 07:09 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Computer won't see my new SSD

Him doing a lot of things is on his own accord. Changing IDE to AHCI is different on Windows 10 which I didn't know, so if I did technically it would have been one thing and he was done. Having him do the normal switch was my bad and not really a part of the process. There's no sense in doing a full install if it's not needed. If the above Windows 10 solution doesn't work then that warrants a fresh install.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 04:15 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Computer won't see my new SSD

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Him doing a lot of things is on his own accord. Changing IDE to AHCI is different on Windows 10 which I didn't know, so if I did technically it would have been one thing and he was done. Having him do the normal switch was my bad and not really a part of the process. There's no sense in doing a full install if it's not needed. If the above Windows 10 solution doesn't work then that warrants a fresh install.

Im not saying to not follow your 1 step solution (which can normally be done in bios before/ after SSD install), he said it has changed to AHCI and still not working.

So I said start fresh, and change it from the start after you initiate it...

I dont think that solution you gave now will work after all the work arounds thats been tried as it should be a simple thing to install SSD but so many other things were tried.. so he needs to wipe it and change it from start..

I think you didnt understand what I was saying!
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 12:23 PM   #18 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Computer won't see my new SSD

Quote:
Originally Posted by rulezero View Post
Im not saying to not follow your 1 step solution (which can normally be done in bios before/ after SSD install), he said it has changed to AHCI and still not working.
Because you have to do more than just switch the BIOS setting. On install, Win8 and below disabled AHCI drivers if they weren't used. Hence the reason of going into registry to re-enable said drivers. But it's apparently changed with Win10, and doesn't require a registry edit, according to the posted solution.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 12:45 PM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Computer won't see my new SSD

Quote:
Originally Posted by rulezero View Post
Im not saying to not follow your 1 step solution (which can normally be done in bios before/ after SSD install), he said it has changed to AHCI and still not working.

So I said start fresh, and change it from the start after you initiate it...

I dont think that solution you gave now will work after all the work arounds thats been tried as it should be a simple thing to install SSD but so many other things were tried.. so he needs to wipe it and change it from start..

I think you didnt understand what I was saying!
You didn't understand what I said, see post above me.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 08:38 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Computer won't see my new SSD

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Because you have to do more than just switch the BIOS setting. On install, Win8 and below disabled AHCI drivers if they weren't used. Hence the reason of going into registry to re-enable said drivers. But it's apparently changed with Win10, and doesn't require a registry edit, according to the posted solution.
Yeah we never needed to touch reg in Win10.. so the change in bios should do the trick..
__________________

__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD and Cache SSD? I_Am_Skip System Upgrades 9 01-08-2012 09:19 PM
ocz ssd vs kingston ssd? gordonie Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 11-11-2011 07:28 PM
Can you have a SSD 60GB as a boot drive and a 500GB HDD for storage but have smart response enabled on the SSD? matteuk New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-27-2011 01:12 PM
mSATA SSD vs SATA SSD Jayce Laptops and Notebooks 1 06-29-2011 10:11 AM
SSD TRIM Function Intel X25 SSD thesilversavers Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 19 05-22-2011 10:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.