Computer Won't Powerup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2006, 06:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Default Computer Won't Powerup

I recently bought a new motherboard - GA-K8NS along with a 400watt powersupply. The RAM is compatible and the CPU is an Athlon 64 3000+.

The first time I tried to power it up the thing wouldn't even start so I removed everything including the HDs. I then made sure the 12 pin mains power supply to the motherboard was working and when I pressed it down the power worked so I thought it may of been down to the connection however when I tried to power it up using the power switch it wouldn't work. I then removed the switch plug thinking it was down to the switch and shorted the power switch using a screwdriver, this worked and the thing powered up but due to there being no GFX card there was no way of seeing output to the monitor so I shut it down by flicking the switch on the PSU.

I'm not sure if this damaged it or not because now it won't work at all. So my question is; what's not working?

I have another PSU to test it with however the other PSU doesn't have the 12V (4 pin) powersupply which the processor needs.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Guarding is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 10:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123

I think there is too much power for your 400W PSU.

talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 03:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to Biohazard_2.0

First of all do not start the computer or attempt to, when you first buy a new motherboard it comes with these brass or plastic things that crew into your case, then you sit your motherboard ontop of those and then screw in your motherboard, if you do not do this you can risk frying your board or ever your processor. The reason for this is because all the metal on the botom of your board touches your Alluminum case and causes a shortage. Either that or I must ask you, are you using an AT or ATX power supply?
\"I am a computer genius, if you dont like me gigabyte me.\" Taylor Lasch 10-24-05
Biohazard_2.0 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.