computer wont post_a few questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2006, 10:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 109
Question computer wont post_a few questions

im stumped. im having the same problem as in my previous post http://techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=91667
it wont post. i was wondering if there was a way to check of my cpu is bad at home, because i dont want to waste like $60 getting it tested a a store.. and will a computer still post without anything except the mobo and psu... i tried that and it wouldnt work...--when i did try it wouldnt start up untill i put my cpu in the slot, put down the leveler and then it booted up and still didnt post. i know the memory and mobo are good because they were brand new.

help needed thanks
__________________

davidp423 is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 10:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

brand new doesn't always mean that they work. sometimes things are DOA.
__________________

__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 12:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by infiltrator7
brand new doesn't always mean that they work. sometimes things are DOA.
so... can u help me or not
davidp423 is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 02:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

video card, motherboard, memory, cpu and psu are required to post correctly. it can post minus the video but it won't posts successfully. like the previous poster said, brand new doesn't mean it works.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 05:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Take the ram out and see if it will beep, If it beeps then the ram is either wrong for the system or bad. If it doesn't beep then put the ram (only one stick) back in and take the video card out.. If it beeps the video card is bad If it doesn't then it is more than likely the mobo that is toast. If it still won't post, Have you tryed resetting the cmos?
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 11:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FlashDude
Take the ram out and see if it will beep, If it beeps then the ram is either wrong for the system or bad. If it doesn't beep then put the ram (only one stick) back in and take the video card out.. If it beeps the video card is bad If it doesn't then it is more than likely the mobo that is toast. If it still won't post, Have you tryed resetting the cmos?
yes ive tried reseting the cmos with no luck
davidp423 is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 11:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 109
Default

the interesting part is that the cpu i have didnt work in two brand new motherboards so far....
__________________

davidp423 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.