Computer won't boot after MB replacement - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2006, 08:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Default Computer won't boot after MB replacement

OK here's my problem. I recently replaced a motherboard in one of my computers and upon the first bootup I got a message saying to configure the BIOS for the CPU being used. The old MB was a biostar ver. 7.3. The new one is the same exact MB only version 7.B. After I got the CPU message I configured the BIOS properly and continued to boot into windows XP. As soon as Windows loaded, the computer restarted itself and went straight to a black screen and doesn't let me do anything. The original problem with this PC was that it would randomly restart(not shutdown....restart). Sometimes 15 minutes after being powered up, sometimes after 5 minutes. I thought for sure it was the motherboard that was giving me problems which is why I replaced it. I ruled out a power supply problem since it always turned on.....if only for 15 minutes, but it did turn on every time. I also ruled out a memory problem since I was getting no stop error codes or anything like that. Can anyone offer me any advice??

This is a PC I got from someone who had it built by someone else. I don't think any quality hardware was used. Could it be that it's just a poor build? Is it worth trying to figure this problem out?

sstasiak is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 01:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3

How different is the motherboard? I'm not that familiar with the version you have but usually you need to reinstall windows when you change the motherboard due to the amount of different drivers needed.

Does it run ok if you boot in safe mode?

ojobson is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 06:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Mr. Switch's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch

Reformat your hard disk. than it should boot. If it doesn't than it can also be the PSU not giving the computer enough juice.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 03:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506

You need to reinstall windows. You don't need to reformat. Just do a repair installation. Not the repair console though! Just follow the instructions as if you're going to install Windows, and then when it asks you whether you'd like to do a complete or a repair install, do the repair.
cedjunior is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.