Computer Upgrading - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2012, 05:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 50
Default Computer Upgrading

Hi

First up my specs:

CPU: i3 3.1 Ghz

PSU: Powercase 580watt Atx12v Model: PSUPOW580MAX

Mobo: H67MA USB3 B3 Gigabyte LGA 1155 H67

Ram: 4gb

GPU: GTX 560ti

OS: Win7 32bit (OEM I thinks)

--

So i want to up grade, first up i want to go from a 32bit os to 64bit, i know that you have to do a fresh install if you want to change but when i go from 32bit to 64bit will i have any troubles when i'm installing the 64bit? Also any links to how to change 32 > 64bit would be great .

CPU: I'm aiming for a I7, i will have lot of applications open, and multitasking. And one thats already OC.

PSU: Don't really want to change but if i have to i have to. ??

Mobo: Don't want to change.

Ram: Probably upgrade to 6gb.

GPU: Aiming for Gtx 660 (maybe ti)

Suggestions, help, is much appreciated
__________________

robcat93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 06:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default Re: Computer Upgrading

You need to have a 64bit OS first, then you need to format and install the fresh copy. You shouldn't have anything extra to do and it is the same process as installing a 32bit OS.

You don't necessarily need an i7 for that. An i5 would do anything you need with a much lower cost. I would aim for getting an i5 3570. There isn't a "Pre-OC" kind of CPU. They all have a turbo but that turbo speed isn't sustained. If you want to OC, you will need a new board and a K series processor.

Just grab a cheap 8GB 1600MHz 2 stick kit from Newegg. You can get some for cheaper than 40 bucks these days.

Are you gaming? If so then the upgrade to the 660ti would be warranted, but if not then not necessary.

Although not necessary, I would upgrade the PSU. Not necessarily in wattage but quality.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 06:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 50
Default Re: Computer Upgrading

Any suggestions for a 8gb 2stick kit?
robcat93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 06:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default Re: Computer Upgrading

Newegg.com - G.SKILL Sniper 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 06:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 50
Default Re: Computer Upgrading

lol just thinking, heat sink for cpu, any suggestions?
robcat93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 06:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default Re: Computer Upgrading

Don't need one as you can't OC.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 03:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 50
Default Re: Computer Upgrading

Just getting a idea.

I do electrical engineering(Programming, Schematics, virtual pc etc)and those use alot of cpu and video editing etc

Would i7 3770 suit that?.
robcat93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 04:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default Re: Computer Upgrading

Yea, but if you're on a slightly less budget so would the 3570 easily. The only difference between the 2 are the 4 extra virtual threads.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 05:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Bregadon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Arizona,USA
Posts: 122
Default Re: Computer Upgrading

The 660TI would be a great upgrade if you can sell your 560TI to cover some of the costs and would also use less power and run cooler generally saving you more money. As PP Said if you don't do any gaming or any higher end gaming to be specific, I don't think upgrading would be justified. The 560TI is still a great card and if you haven't yet you could always try overclocking it if it's not performing to your needs at the moment.
Bregadon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 05:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 50
Default Re: Computer Upgrading

Alright,

So do i install all of the components first before i change 32bit > 64bit or do 64bit then install??
__________________

robcat93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.