Computer stuck in a continuous reboot cycle... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2006, 06:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 17
Default Computer stuck in a continuous reboot cycle...

Here is the message I get (after bios):

"We apologize for the inconvenience, but Windows did not start successfully. A recent hardware or software change may have caused this.

If your computer stopped responding, restarted unexpectedly, or was automatically shut down to protect your files and folders, choose Last Known Good Configuration to revert to the most recent settings that worked.

If a previous startup attempt was interrupted due to power failure or because the Power or Restart button was pressed, or if you aren't sure what caused the problem, choose Start Windows Normally.

Safe Mode
Safe Mode with Networking
Safe Mode with Command Prompt

Last Known Good Configuration

Start Windows Normally

Use up and down arrows to highlight your choice."

Now I tried each option and all that happens is the screen goes blank and reboots after about 2 seconds. It repeats the cycle every time.

When I woke up one morning it was in this cycle already. I don't recall installing anything new the night before.

How do I find out what is causing the problem? I don't have a Win XP CD to boot from atm but I know I'll need one to do a repair install, but that still won't tell me what is causing the problem, and if it's hardware that won't fix the problem either. I did have a virus guard that ran a scan every night. It was AVG (the free one).

Can anyone tell me what steps to take to identify what caused this? I have an old computer hooked up now so you can walk me through anything and I'm somewhat computer literate. The computer with the problem is one I built about a month ago and had been running just fine until this problem showed up a few days ago. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.

-James
__________________

harmonicsa is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 08:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

If you have only had it for a month and there isnt too much files on it you could just reinstall windows lol. If it has a virus that wont let you go into windows then you're screwed from the best that I know. Try reseting the cmos jumper on the mobo. Sometimes that might help.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 11:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default

some hardware may have gone bad, or your harddrive may have been corrupted, and avg sucks
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 12:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

Uhhhh, "AVG sucks" , what a statement. I love AVG, ive used it forever and its worked great.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 01:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

this may sound really dumb but try reseating your graphics card. if that doesn't change things try running memtest86+ for a few hours
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 04:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnnyPotseed
Default

Corrupted boot.ini?
__________________

JohnnyPotseed is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.