Computer Specs, good, or bad? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2006, 02:32 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cyrax

That PSU over here costs $200. I don't really want to spend that much on a PSU. If the Raidmax one would be sufficient, then I don't see any need to get a Antec one. What is the matter with getting a bad branded PSU? Is it the chance it would break down, or what?
yes. bad supply will blow ur mobo and cpu up. so many cases on TF that actually PSU blows up along w their CPU and mobo and GPU. well..u dont see the explosion but ..u get the bad smell and useless broken components.
__________________

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 03:09 AM   #12 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 184
Default

get a forton PSU 450W. They are super reliable and reasonably priced. 45-50 here in the states so for you like 125ish. For vid card if you can try to get eVGA since they have great cards with awesome warrenties for all your OCing mishaps. GL
__________________

royalk4 is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 04:49 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 57
Default

if you want to spend a just a little more change (about 40-50 usd) try upgrading to this cpu http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...470&CatId=1948 and here is a decent 550w psu for less than the one you chose there http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...436&CatId=1079 and for that video card heres a cheaper alternative with about the same performance http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...699&CatId=1826
__________________
light a candle for the sinners, set the world on fire.....
devilstar187 is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 06:06 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

Idon't knwo about which one is cheaper but it sure looks like Newegg.com is much better since it is $35 cheaper then tigerdirect, heres the 2 links:
AMD x2 3800+:http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...?EdpNo=1526470
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 06:20 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 57
Default

yea i hadnt checked newegg's price on that cpu when i posted that but yes they are cheaper. same cpu save for the fan tho.
__________________
light a candle for the sinners, set the world on fire.....
devilstar187 is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 06:48 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

i know but usually the last feww posts i have been finding with people wanting the x2 3800+ form other sites it is usually $30+ and i checked this one out earler and it is hte cheapest i could find..i am sure they are cheaper but hehe i think knockin 30 off is a good deal..
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 06:59 AM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 57
Default

yea same here. im a cheap ******* at times.
__________________
light a candle for the sinners, set the world on fire.....
devilstar187 is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 03:37 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

The x2 3800+ costs $589.68 over here. The 3700+ San Diego core costs $436.15. Is it worth speding an extra $100 or so dollars for it?

Is my mobo still good for all this stuff? I like the mobo I have in there now since it's quite inexpensive, but I've been told that it was good at what it does. I'm not overclocking, so I don't need a DFI board or anything.

Wouldn't it be better to get the 3700+, since I only have ValueRAM in there at the moment? If you guys wanna help me out, then you can have a look at this site, it's all in NZD, it's basically the newegg.com New Zealand equivilant. http://www.ascent.co.nz/

If someone could go to that site, and find a good build, or develop on the build I've been lookin at, that would be awesome. Just remember I wanna keep it around the $1500 mark.
cyrax is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 09:06 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

bumpity bump
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.