computer setup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2006, 01:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to dafunkmon
Default computer setup

hey i have a sony vaio minitower and im keeping my hard drive and optical drives and my floppy so i wanted to get a motherboard that was compatible with my 5 year old components but still be able to have a fast processor, lots of system ram and an updated video card...
video card
motherboard
memory
processor
power supply
this is all budget but and not much of it is brand name but i just needed a cheap upgrade and also i wanted amd but i chose intel.
__________________

dafunkmon is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 02:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Why did you choose Intel? If you were going Core 2 Duo, I would certainly understand but I can't say I do with the choices you've made, especially since an Athlon 64 3000+ for AM2 is cheaper than your 2.8ghz P4.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 02:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I agree with macdude, go with the AMD 64 3000+, it's cheaper and way better then the intel you chose.
This PSU is a better choice:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104953
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 03:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to dafunkmon
Default

ok how bout this
motherboard
processor
memory
video card
power
so is a dual processor amd better than a intel dual processor? and why are the dual processors for intel running at 1.8 to 2.6 ghz? is that bad to buy a 1.8 ghz dual processor? can someone explain to me the amd processing speeds, why are they slower and why are they better?
dafunkmon is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 03:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

AMD chips have slower clocks, but they execute more instructions per clock. I'm not REAL clear on all the technicalities behind it, but I know that a 2.8 GHz AMD processor blows a 2.8 GHz Intel processor right out of the water.
Think of it this way: (and sorry if my information is bad, this is just an off-scale example) say you're opening a web page, opening your email, and opening a game of 3D pinball. With an Intel processor, it would have to do each of these tasks individually, but an AMD processor with the same speed could do all three tasks at once. Thats why AMD is better, even at lower clocks.
Actually, if that confused you, then disregard it totally. I think I even confused myself........ *????* Wait till' one of the smart people comes along and confirms it.
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 07:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Much better choices dafunkmon...good job.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 06:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lazer_viking
AMD chips have slower clocks, but they execute more instructions per clock. I'm not REAL clear on all the technicalities behind it, but I know that a 2.8 GHz AMD processor blows a 2.8 GHz Intel processor right out of the water.
Think of it this way: (and sorry if my information is bad, this is just an off-scale example) say you're opening a web page, opening your email, and opening a game of 3D pinball. With an Intel processor, it would have to do each of these tasks individually, but an AMD processor with the same speed could do all three tasks at once. Thats why AMD is better, even at lower clocks.
Actually, if that confused you, then disregard it totally. I think I even confused myself........ *????* Wait till' one of the smart people comes along and confirms it.
Its right but he may not understand i'll try to make it easier for him.

Intel does have shorter clock speeds so it does less per clock cycle.
Amd has a longer clock cycle which allows it to do a few things per clock cycle

Its like this:
intel 2.8 ghz, AMD 64 2800+
Truck A = intel, Truck B = AMD
There both taking loads of fill dirt to places which are the same distance. However Truck A can only carry 10lbs at a time but he travels at 100MPH. Truck B can carry 100lbs but it can only travel at 10mhp. They both end up getting done at the same time.

Hope you understand it better if u didn't understand it. That thing about hte trucks is how i learned and i think its hte best way to show which one is going
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 08:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Yea that's pretty much what goes on under that heatspreader.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.