Computer problems again! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2006, 05:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Post Computer problems again!

gday all,

I wonder if you could give me some help with a problem. I have recently invested in a computer upgrade.

Asus A8n SLI delux
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ venice
GeForce 6600GT 256mb 128bit
2x512 mb 400mhz RAM
40gb barracuda HDD
80gb WD

Now im having a bit of a problem with the OS. When i boot and the boot priority is set on hdd it says "NTRDL" missing, or something like that, "please press crt alt del to Restart". WHen i set it on boot from cd and put the motherboard Cd in boots "loading kernel GO!" and boots into windows. That is problem number1. Now the other problem is i was ok for the time being booting of the cd cause it loaded windows but now when i boot from the cd it gets into the windows blue background with the windows logo on the middle right hand side of the screen and then does nothing. This is very annoying can anyone help or give some adive. Ive tryed format and reinstall of OS to no avail.



Jstubbs is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 06:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 116

Hmmm, you formatted and reinstalled and it still didnt work? Thats odd. I had the same problem till I found out Windows wont boot to a new motherboard, so all I did was reinstall windows and it worked decently till I installed service pack 2. Sorry I cant be of much help, but you might wanna call ASUS support, I did it twice and they were able to help me farily fast both times.

Difolo is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 06:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Run a hard drive diagnostic on the drive your installing Windows. The software can be found at the manufacturors website. Run the extended test then post results.
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 07:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486

Make sure the Hard drive with windows is the one it boots from. You should be able to set this in the BIOS.
Vybuni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.