Computer help

Status
Not open for further replies.

wizard1183

Beta member
Ok, Im a newb when it comes to Linux and some computer based material. My question is how much of the software out these days made for windows works on Linux? Such as: Music Creator4,M-Audio to record music ect. I hear Linux is not made for the novice. I wish I could use this system solely but having an iphone and updating it through itunes, Linux will not support it.

Also backing up my system, what does that entail? Lets say I have 2-4 HDD and I run them In RAID. How would I copy all the software installed on the main HD into another so as to not reinstall everything? Like when SSD gets cheaper I'd like to swap my HDD for this and transfer all my info directly to it rather than having to reinstall everything.

I'm looking to buy a computer soon and I'm undecided as to where to start. I'd like to buy a mac pro,but I keep hearing bad things about apple. My question towards this is on the mac pro. The new nehalem processors, how much better are they than say a processor from last yr? (2.66ghz quad-core 08 to a new nehalem 2.66ghz quad-core) considering both had same of everything else.

I want a computer that can handle recording music,surfing the web and a little media,very upgradeable. Not so much spyware,adware,viruses. I also was thinking about putting hard drives into succession using RAID. (desktop btw)In doing this with the hard drives, lets say in the future when prices drop I change out HDDs for SSDs. How would I transfer data and software from HDD to SSD or form one HDD to another without having to reinstall software?

This is not a windows vs mac comparison. Im trying to figure out the best way to go about this. Reason Id like a mac is because the OS doesnt use a whole lot of resources and is open source with little adware,viruses,and such. Im a pc user looking for options.

I wouldnt mind staying with a pc, but if I do this, what OS should I use? XP?