Computer CPU Processor Question - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2007, 06:23 PM   #51 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

The sucky thing is that I have read that this model comes with a 939 socket, yet the processor is a 754 processor. Is that possible?

This is what it says about my motherboard:

Motherboard ID 05/13/2005-RS480-SB400-6A666M4HC-00

I am about 99% certain this is my motherboard
__________________

Ithryndil is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 05:18 AM   #52 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

no, thats like sticking AM2 on a 939
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 10:52 AM   #53 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Yea, well that makes sense. So in the long run if I were to upgrade my motherboard, it would be smart to upgrade to one with an AM2 socket and get an AM2 processor. Correct? I think, in general, the AM2 processors are cheaper than the Opteron. I assume this is simply because they are new and that's what companies are making.
Ithryndil is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 11:29 AM   #54 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Well I apologize for all the questions...but I have a new set. Seeing as it would take more money than I have to build a new computer, I would like to try a slow upgrade which might eventually lead to a completely new computer altogether. I currently have 1 GB of RAM, and if I were to build a new computer I would go with 2 GB of RAM. So, since I want a new motherboard for a new processor, I need to get ram that is compatible with my ancient motherboard and any new one I get. I currently have motherboard. I have been looking at getting this motherboard to replace my old one. It's the same size so it ought to fit in my case. The RAM I would like is the Patriot 2GB, but I need to know if it's even compatible with my motherboard, and if so, if it's compatible with that other one I am looking at. From what I can tell it looks like it will be compatible with both motherboards, but I would like confirmation. Now after I get the RAM, I can work on getting a new motherboard and processor.

So the main question here is the RAM compatible with both motherboards? Also, would I be better off in the long run getting a bigger case so that I am not so constrained on size? I was looking at this case for a possible candidate or perhaps this one. To be honest I am not quite sure what to look for in a case or necessarily a motherboard. Anyhow, I hope I am not too much of a nuisance with these questions.
Ithryndil is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 11:32 AM   #55 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

The RAM is not compatible with both motherboards. Only your current one. You need DDR2 RAM, to be compatible with the AM2 motherboard, that you chose.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 11:49 AM   #56 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

So are motherboards becoming larger lately? I noticed mine is 9.6" X 9.6" and others are 12" X 8.6" If I were to build a compute I wouldn't necessarily have to get a new hard drive? Could I use the one from my old computer (with all my stuff on it). Or is there compatibility issues there as well?
Ithryndil is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 11:53 AM   #57 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Your motherboard is a Micro-ATX form factor. The 12" x 9.6" motherboards, are ATX form factors. You don't need a new hard drive, but you would have to reinstall Windows, when you install the new motherboard.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 11:57 AM   #58 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Ok...I am trying to see what I wouldn't have to get for a new computer to try and get an idea how much building one would cost. And could I also use the cd drives from my old computer? It's looking like it will be impossible to upgrade this one, at least to anything that I want (which is what was said earlier in the thread), so I would just like to get an idea on what I would need. So, which type of motherboards are better?
Ithryndil is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 12:01 PM   #59 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Well for AM2 motherboards, and depending on your budget, I would suggest either the Biostar TForce TF7025 or Gigabyte M61P-S3.

Yes, you can use the same CD drive.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 12:07 PM   #60 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Ok. Thank you for all the help. And for the Gigabyte motherboard I will need a new case. I am not sure what a good case would be for around $100. I would like to get a new case, however, that was any future upgrades won't be constrained by space. Yes it will be bigger, but I can easily live with that.
__________________

Ithryndil is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Buying Computer, Please Help Slave2Society7 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 09-06-2007 12:50 AM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Cant seem to fix this dang computer morrty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-11-2007 11:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.