Computer CPU Processor Question - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2007, 04:50 PM   #41 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ithryndil View Post
Oh...And there is no way to unlock the motherboard from that, aside from buying a new motherboard?
Affirmative.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 04:50 PM   #42 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

nope the overclocking options generally arnt locked they'er just not there
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 04:57 PM   #43 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

However, if I were to buy a motherboard off of Newegg or some other site, then would those options be there? I would also need to reinstall Windows, not to mention the added cost of the motherboard. I think I will go with either the Opteron 175 or 180. I know it's not the best bang for the buck, but considering I won't be able to overclock, the extra price will probably be worth it.
Ithryndil is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 04:59 PM   #44 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ithryndil View Post
However, if I were to buy a motherboard off of Newegg or some other site, then would those options be there?
Yes...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ithryndil
I would also need to reinstall Windows, not to mention the added cost of the motherboard. I think I will go with either the Opteron 175 or 180. I know it's not the best bang for the buck, but considering I won't be able to overclock, the extra price will probably be worth it.
If you're looking into a motherboard that can overclock, why not get the Opetron 165? That will save you some money.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 05:02 PM   #45 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Well, I'd prefer to stay away from getting a new motherboard simply because I don't know anyone with Windows XP Media Edition nor do I want to spend the money to buy it. I am not trying to be picky, but when money is an issue, you tend to have to limit what you buy yourself. And, if I were to overclock the processor, wouldn't that shorten it's life? I don't know what the average life expectancy of a processor is.
Ithryndil is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 05:04 PM   #46 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ithryndil View Post
Well, I'd prefer to stay away from getting a new motherboard simply because I don't know anyone with Windows XP Media Edition nor do I want to spend the money to buy it. I am not trying to be picky, but when money is an issue, you tend to have to limit what you buy yourself. And, if I were to overclock the processor, wouldn't that shorten it's life? I don't know what the average life expectancy of a processor is.
The average lifespan of a CPU is about 10 years. Overclocking takes off barely 1-2 years. And I doubt you'll be using the same CPU for more than 5 years. So really, it's no big deal. Just about everyone here, overclocks.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 05:10 PM   #47 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

That makes since. Well this wouldn't be an issue if I didn't have to reinstall Windows. Not to mention I am not sure what a good motherboard would be for my situation. And then if I do get a motherboard why not get an AM2 mother board and go with a processor for that? Aside from price that is. It's slightly frustrating that my computer didn't come with a Windows CD. I understand why they do that, to force people to buy a CD and spend more money.
Ithryndil is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 05:53 PM   #48 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

ever considered linux? Ubuntu?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 06:04 PM   #49 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Well...I suppose I have bad news for myself. After making sure what socket type I have, it appears I can't get any of the Opteron processors. Everest Home Edition says I have a socket 754...
Ithryndil is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 06:20 PM   #50 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

wow... thats even worse... rofl...

what you do now... stick with what you have... and rebuild once you get more cash...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Buying Computer, Please Help Slave2Society7 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 09-06-2007 12:50 AM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Cant seem to fix this dang computer morrty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-11-2007 11:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.