Computer CPU Processor Question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2007, 12:20 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

The power supply is this exact power supply. That's the PSU I upgraded to awhile back.
__________________

Ithryndil is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 12:20 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

That's a decent PSU. It'll be able to power up everything.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 12:21 AM   #13 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ithryndil View Post
Ok, that makes since, however the PSU I currently have in my computer did not come with my computer. I bought it after the fact, which is why I am slightly frustrated that it won't work with a new motherboard that can support Socket AM2 processors.
Who said that? That Antec True Power Trio is compatible with an AM2 system.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 12:27 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

I won't necessarily say that he said that. He could have simply missed the fact that in my first post I added the PSU that I had. I don't think I made it clear that I upgraded to that particular PSU. I assume that he was referring to the PSU that came with my computer. Anyhow, that's a relief to find out. So another couple of questions:

1. As long as I find a motherboard that has a Socket AM2 in it, I should be able to buy any of those processors and be fine, correct?
2. This might be dumb, but if I get a new motherboard, will I still have all my programs and information, etc. I won't need to reinstall Windows will I?

Thanks again for the help.
Ithryndil is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 12:28 AM   #15 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

all your programs, are on your hard drive, shouldn't be affected by mobo change
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 12:33 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

That was my initial thought. And as long as I get a motherboard with a Socket AM2, then I can get an AM2 processor. Makes sense. But in the end it might be more beneficial to buy a new computer. Choices.
Ithryndil is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 12:35 AM   #17 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Whenever you change the motherboard, you have to reinstall Windows, because your previous Windows installation on the hard drive, is tied to that eMachine.

edit: oh ok...
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 12:37 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Whenever you change the motherboard, you have to reinstall Windows, because your previous Windows installation on the hard drive, is tied to that Dell machine.
My computer isn't a Dell, it's an eMachines.
Ithryndil is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 12:55 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Ok...not too big of a problem, but my computer never came with a Windows XP disc, how would I go about reinstalling Windows without the disc. Would I have to try and find a copy of Windows XP somewhere?
Ithryndil is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 12:58 AM   #20 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Try and borrow an XP CD from a friend, and use the same key from your emachines. The CD has to be the same exact version of XP, that you have.

Or if that doesn't work, buy an OEM XP CD. They're not expensive. XP Home w/SP2 OEM is about $90.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Buying Computer, Please Help Slave2Society7 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 09-06-2007 12:50 AM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Cant seem to fix this dang computer morrty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-11-2007 11:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.