Computer CPU Processor Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2007, 11:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Computer CPU Processor Question

I hope that this hasn't been asked before and I apologize if it has. I have a couple questions regarding my computer and upgrading my processor. Now, since I know that things need to be compatible, I would prefer to find out if the cpu processor that I would like to buy to upgrade my computer with is compatible with my computer. The processors I am looking at are:

Processor 1
Processor 2
Processor 3
Processor 4
Processor 5

I would prefer not to spend more than $180 on a processor. I was also wonder if my power supply will be adequate to power the processors. The video card I am using is a GeForce 6800 GS. I can't remember the exact video card. If you need the exact video card, then I will try to find it. I am currently using this computer. Thank you for your help.
__________________

Ithryndil is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 11:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ithryndil View Post
I hope that this hasn't been asked before and I apologize if it has. I have a couple questions regarding my computer and upgrading my processor. Now, since I know that things need to be compatible, I would prefer to find out if the cpu processor that I would like to buy to upgrade my computer with is compatible with my computer. The processors I am looking at are:

Processor 1
Processor 2
Processor 3
Processor 4
Processor 5

I would prefer not to spend more than $180 on a processor. I was also wonder if my power supply will be adequate to power the processors. The video card I am using is a GeForce 6800 GS. I can't remember the exact video card. If you need the exact video card, then I will try to find it. I am currently using this computer. Thank you for your help.
you can't upgrade to those... because your socket is 939.. the ones your looking at are Socket AM2... so choose one of the following...

1. Upgrade to the best Socket 939 (one of the best) there is... Opteron 165 (btw you can't use a diff PSU, vendors use proprietory PSU's which are diff from the ones you and I buy)
2. Buy a New System Completely...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 11:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

If I got a compatible motherboard, would I be able to use one of the aforementioned processors? And what do you mean about the power supply? I apologize if this is a dumb question.
Ithryndil is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 11:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

^ its not... what Dell and other companies do they use a different type of PSU (forget the type) and if you do get a different board, u'd have to get a new PSU to fit power it up... but my recommendation.. sell this one... and start fresh...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 11:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Well...that sucks. So essentially if I got a different motherboard I would need a different PSU that's compatible with that motherboard to power it. In addition to that I would still need/want the better processor. It's pretty much a better idea to just get a new computer as it might be cheaper. Is that pretty much the situation?
Ithryndil is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 11:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ithryndil View Post
Well...that sucks. So essentially if I got a different motherboard I would need a different PSU that's compatible with that motherboard to power it. In addition to that I would still need/want the better processor. It's pretty much a better idea to just get a new computer as it might be cheaper. Is that pretty much the situation?
pretty much dude... thats why your better of building.. so u can upgrade in the future...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 12:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Yea well at the time I didn't necessarily have the knowledge to build a computer. I still probably don't now, but I am better off now. This is precisely why I ask these types of questions. To learn more about computers and their nuances and to ensure that whatever I buy isn't going to be a hassle and perhaps a waste of time and effort. If I had just bought a new processor without asking then I would soon find out that it wouldn't work. The socket thing makes sense, however, the PSU not working with the different motherboard doesn't necessarily make sense, but, I am not a computer expert.
Ithryndil is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 12:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

The PSU that comes with a pre-built computer usually won't work if you swap your motherboards. Due to the new motherboard using more power then the factory one, you'll need to get a new PSU to power everything up.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 12:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Ok, that makes since, however the PSU I currently have in my computer did not come with my computer. I bought it after the fact, which is why I am slightly frustrated that it won't work with a new motherboard that can support Socket AM2 processors.
Ithryndil is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 12:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Computer CPU Processor Question

Can you tell me what brand/make it is from, and are you able to see the sticker on the PSU? If you can, tell me the +12V rails (all of it).
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Buying Computer, Please Help Slave2Society7 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 09-06-2007 12:50 AM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Cant seem to fix this dang computer morrty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-11-2007 11:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.