Computer build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2006, 05:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default Computer build

Hi. Im thinking of building my own computer this time instead of hiring someone to buying one off the net or store. I'd just like you guy's to look at the following config I have picked out and tell me if you think they would be compatible and if it's a very good system overall. Thanks

Case: ATX Mid Tower Case w/ 450watt power supply

Motherboard: ABIT IP-95 Socket T VIA P4M890 Micro ATX

CPU: Pentium 4 641 Cedar Mill 3.2GHz LGA 775 (Socket T) 64-bit with Hyperthreading

Memory(RAM): Kingston HyperX 1GB (2x512) DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 533 Dual Channel

Hard Disk: Westerm Digital Caviar SE 320GB 7200RPM IDE Ultra ATA100 Harddrive

Video card: Chaintech Geforce 7600GS 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express 16x

CD ROM Drive: ASUS Combo Drive Beige E-IDE/ATAPI

O/S: Microsoft Windows XP Pro 64bit edition

I also have a static electricity wrist strap and Artic Silver 5 Thermal Compound.
__________________

CriminalCola is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 05:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Well what are you going to be using this system for? Judging from your video card selection I'm guessing gaming, In which case you should look into Intel's core 2 duo processor, you might have to spend a little more, but you'll get ALOT more performance than you would out of a P4.
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 05:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Yes. I'm planning on using it for gaming.

I'm looking at the Intel Core 2 Dou E6400. Is this a very good model? The motherboard supports this chip. Is the installation of a Core 2 Dou very different then a Pentium 4?

Also, will my motherboard fit inside the case? And is the hard disk okay? I saw alot of different things like SATA drives.

Sorry, Haven't built a computer before, just tring to make sure it will work before I buy.

Thanks for your time!
CriminalCola is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 06:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Yes the e6400 is a great processor. The installation procedure is the same because they're both the same socket. That hard drive is ok. Also don't get that OS, because of the lack of compatibility, with drivers. Just get the regular xp pro or 32bit version.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 06:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Will getting 32 bit OS and having a 64 bit CPU cause problems?
CriminalCola is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 07:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Nope.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.