Which computer is better? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2006, 02:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Default Which computer is better?

Im quite a newbie in regards to AMD computers. i usually only know about pentium. how does AMD therefore compare to pentim? Im looking into buying one of two computers, but im not sure which one is better. i need it mainly for gaming, so i need good processing power, virtual memory and graphics. which one of these is therefore better that will allow me to run all the latest games for some time still?

OPTION 1:
* AMD Athlon64 3200+ Processor (Socket 939pin)
* 1024MB DDR400 Memory
* 250GB SATA II Hard Drive 7200RPM
* DVD-RW 16x Dual Layer Optical Drive
* VGA/DVI Onboard
* Dimension:180 (W) x 360 (H) x 420 (D) mm
* Microsoft Windows XP Home
* Nero Express 6
* Norton Anti-Virus 2006 (90 day trial)
* Power DVD 6
* On Board 10/100 LAN
* Warranty: 3yrs On-site NBD
* 1 x PATA Ports
* 4 x SATA Ports
* PCI Slots: 2 x PCI, 1 x PCI-E
* nVidia GeForce6100 with nForce 430
* 256MB Maximum Onboard VGA Memory
* 10/100 Onboard LAN
* 1 x Serial Ports
* 1 x Parallel Ports
* 2 x USB2 Ports Front
* 6 x USB2 Ports Rear
* 2 x PS2 Ports
* 1 x FireWire (IEEE1394)
* USB Keyboard
* Optical Mouse
* Dimension: 190 (W) x 360 (H) x 375 (D
* Average Weight: 12KG

OPTION 2:
* AMD Sempron 64Bit 3100+ Processor (Socket 754)
* 512MB DDR400 Memory
* 200GB SATA Hard Drive 7200RPM
* DVD-RW 16x Dual Layer Optical Drive
* 9 in 1Memory Card Reader
* Dimension:180 (W) x 360 (H) x 420 (D) mm
* Microsoft Windows XP Home
* Microsoft Works
* 2 x PATA Ports
* 2 x SATA Ports
* PCI Slots: 3 x PCI, 1 x 8X AGP
* Sound Onboard: AC97 (5.1)
* AGP Graphics Expansion Slot
* 64MB Maximum Onboard VGA Memory
* 10/100 Onboard LAN
* 1 x Serial Ports
* 1 x Parallel Ports
* 2 x USB Ports Front
* 4 x USB Ports Rear
* 2 x PS2 Ports
* PS2 Keyboard
* PS2 Mouse

Thanks alot!
__________________

SeaTan is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 02:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Option 1 of course...
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 02:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

But if you are planing on using this to game with then option one has onboard graphics ( Mind you they are the best OB graphics out) but still they are onboard and there is no expansion slot listed. So I would say neither.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 02:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...uct_Code=90315
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 07:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Default

although the graphics card is built in, is there no way to improve it at some later date? even though there is no slot for one (im not sure what slot that is thouhg), is there perhaps some type of converter from one slot to another? thanks
SeaTan is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 08:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

* PCI Slots: 2 x PCI, 1 x PCI-E
* nVidia GeForce6100 with nForce 430


lol it says right there there is a pci-express slot...

amd is a lot better than the pentium 4. intel just came out with a new processor which is better than the amd processor.. but not quote released yet.. and probably out of your budget.

how much does option 1 cost? we'll tell you if its a good deal or not.

since you'll be gaming, if you do get option 1, make sure you get a video card to add to it... either of these will be fine:

6600gt, x1600pro, x1600xt, any of the 6800 line,7600gs, 7600gt, x1800xt, 7900gt, x1900xt..



definitely option 1 is better.. in pretty much every way!
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 03:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Option 1 was £389.99 and Option 2 was £299.97.
SeaTan is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 04:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

go with option one but in the future if you ever want to game you can upgrade and get a graphics card.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 04:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks guys so far, but how does AMD Athlon64 3200+ Processor compare to Pentium. youve said its better, but can you say it would be similiar to pentium 4 3ghz or something?
SeaTan is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 05:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

3200+ would be equivalent to a pentium 4 3.2 ghz.

you can't compare ghz b/w amd and intel because they work differently.. so AMD made it easier and gave each CPU a rating that corresponds to the intel equivalent... so a 2.0ghz socket 939 AMD cpu is equivalent to a pentium 4 3.2ghz.


however, when it comes to specific tasks, amd and intel excel in different tasks.

generally, for audio/video encoding/decoding, pentiums are a lot better than AMDs. for gaming, AMDs are a lot better than pentiums. but on average, 3200+ is equivalent to pentium 3.2ghz

edit: btw.. i don't think you're getting such a great deal on this.. especially since AMD prices recently dropped...

would you know how to build your own comp? you would get a much better computer.
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.