computer $500 or below - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-10-2005, 05:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default computer $500 or below

i just want something around 500 that i can play like counter strike on. not to much more, im not a very big gamer just games like halo and counter strike on the computer i'de like to play. My dad is really cheap and doesn't understand anything aobut computers. He wants to get a dell 3000 blaahhh! does anyone know something that would be able to play cs and halo? $500 or below? other than building one
__________________

Weste47 is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 07:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

Counter-Strike 1.6?? If it's CS:S, then you'll need a pretty good PC. Hmmm, I can link you to a site where you can get a PC for around $500 that's decent.

www.ibuypower.com "build" yourself one there, and they will build it and ship it to you. Just check it out, good prices for great products IMO.
__________________

__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 08:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

you can have my P2 system which will max out cs.

Dude how many threads do you have to start on the same thing
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 10:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 21
Default

cs is a very demanding game. it will take your life, cpu cycles, and bandwidth. people will notice how ignorant you have become. I wouldn't get the newer comp, just take your fathers comp and optimize it (remove excess processes, install the best drivers, etc.)
da_foosh_masta is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 12:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 111
Default

Dell 3000 doesn't have an AGP slot, it's onboard graphics. You will have to use a PCI video card, and not get one that taxes the power supply too much.
__________________
The box said \"Requires Windows 98 or better\"....so I installed Linux. There\'s no going back.
GX1_Man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.