Compatibility Question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2010, 11:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Compatibility Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by redfish View Post
Magic of combo deals. Best thing since sushi.
You have learned well, young padawan.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 12:42 AM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,323
Default Re: Compatibility Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
I would beef up the graphics a little. The 450 is a decent card, but underpowered. My cousin's husband is running a 4850 and gets great frames on an original Phenom quad, so going with a 5770 or better, or a 460, would set you up sweet.

Don't shop blind on cards, though. Check reviews and warranties before you decide on one. EVGA is only doing a two year warranty on most of their new cards.

Oh, and redfish is right... look for combos where you can.
I wouldnt have said something but this bothered me. You say the guy runs a 4850 and a Phenom 1 with decent frames but then say a 450 with an i5 is under powered? Thats a tad backwards. Though to tack on with the new addition to WoW a 450 will not play it fully maxed out if my friend is correct. Depends on res though. As i always say WoW can be played on almost anything and only your wallet will let you truly know what you want to buy.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 11-14-2010, 03:23 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Compatibility Question

whats the benefit of an ssd. i read a little on what it is but not sure how it would perform better then the standard hard drive or does it go in like a second hard drive?
toferdagofer is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 03:31 PM   #14 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: Compatibility Question

A SSD shows incredible performance over a HDD. While the top-notch 10,000 RPM HDD might get you 15 second or more boot times, a SSD would probably put you more in the 5 second range. The performance difference is astronomical. The write speed is also incredibly blazingly fast.
In other words, yes, it performs much better than a HDD.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 04:12 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Compatibility Question

so how would i use it. in conjunction with a standard HDD or would i replace it the HDD with the SSD. Would an SSD hold my operating system just like the HDD does?
toferdagofer is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 04:13 PM   #16 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: Compatibility Question

What most people do is use an SSD for their OS and a HDD for data storage, e.g. word files etc.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 04:13 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Compatibility Question

ok just realized thats a stupid question. cause of the size of the SSD but i asssume i would use it in conjunction and install my main programms i use on it so i can get better performance such as WOW??
toferdagofer is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 04:42 PM   #18 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: Compatibility Question

Depends on the size of SSD and how much writing is going on. The only problem with SSD is that frequent data writing can cause the drive to "burn out", so while the operating system may work fine as it's pretty much a one-time install other data that's constantly being changed should NOT be on the SSD. This also means that paging files should be disabled on the SS drive. Is there's some way to put the game on the SSD and change the location of save files to the HDD? I don't game so I don't know.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 05:16 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 38
Default Re: Compatibility Question

+1 Go for a combo and get the 5770 ,can't go wrong, but I would find a motherboad in that sma eprice range with 2 PCI-E slots in case he ever wants to upgrade his graphics all he'd need to do is slap in another 5770.
vortex2450 is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 06:29 PM   #20 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Compatibility Question

Seriously, why waste the money on a 30Gig SSD. It'll just hold Windows and some games.

Why not ditch the 30Gig and just wait till more moneys avaliable and get a bigger one which will last longer.

Not everyone is so impatient that they can't wait a minute and a half for windows to boot.

To me it just seems like a waste to spend the money on such a small drive, and not gain enough benifits.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
compatibility question YouAreADisgrace System Upgrades 2 08-10-2009 06:17 PM
Compatibility question?? krazyq System Upgrades 3 06-19-2007 10:45 AM
compatibility question heffer New Systems | Building and Buying 4 11-21-2006 08:38 PM
Compatibility question hdansjr Microsoft Windows and Software 1 10-10-2006 10:46 PM
Compatibility Question Sharps170 System Upgrades 2 05-23-2006 06:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.