comp setup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2006, 12:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to dafunkmon
Default comp setup

case
motherboard
video card
psu
ram
processor
so what do you guys think about this setup just to play half life 2 and DOD:source? my budget is around $500
__________________

dafunkmon is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 01:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 298
Default

That should be good enough to play those 2 games at reasonable settings, however, upgradibility would be an issue, since Socket 939 is going to die out soon. I would suggest going AM2 and getting the 450watt version of that PSU.
__________________

__________________

See Wii. See Wii run. See Wii blow all the other consoles out of the water!
KBlair is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 03:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

that setup should run just fine, but like KBlair said, they wont be doing much with the 939 processor in years to come, so you might want to hold off and wait for better motherboards at lower prices for the am2 come out. But if you want to run that rig and just upgrade slowly go for it.
str8lazy is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to dafunkmon
Default

motherboard
processor
memory
video card
case
psu
im just checking to see if this intel setup with a different video card could be a better setup for a new computer?
dafunkmon is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 08:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 298
Default

Those 2 processors are somewhat equal, however, I would suggest getting a 7600GT since that seems to perform better with Half Life 2, also, try to get a Conroe compatible board if you're going with the Intel setup for upgradibility.

EDIT: Also, stay with a 450 watt Fortron.
__________________

See Wii. See Wii run. See Wii blow all the other consoles out of the water!
KBlair is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.