College Computer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2006, 09:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

dude, you're gettin a dell
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 09:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aliasaid
dude, you're gettin a dell
Actually, I am not

My dad has decided to just go prebuilt if a H-ell will cost that *thank god*.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 10:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 167
Default

I got a great deal on a case/power supply, keyboard and mouse.
__________________
<A href=\"http://www.stores.ebay.com/championcomputers\"><IMG src=\"http://pages.sssnet.com/championcomputers/Logos%20and%20Graphics/Champion%20Logos/animated_logo_low.gif\" border=0></A>
forlorn_ronin is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 12:00 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

Quote:
I got a great deal on a case/power supply, keyboard and mouse.
wow, good for you son
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 01:18 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to BigBucksT
Default

I have a Dell Domension 8400 pc. I bought it from Dell and wanted to upgrade the ram. They made me buy a 1 gb stick from them and only them. It was a pain in the ***. It cost me $300. WHAT A RIPOFF. Never again, I learned my lesson.
BigBucksT is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 05:46 PM   #16 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

dell dosent use propeitary mem, my old dimension 4100 had 64mb and i bought two 256 sticks of kingston and it works great, it has been regulated to "family" computer now, you cant play HL2 on a 900mhz pIII after all. if you need a goo dprice you can buy systemax pc from tiger direct with linspire pre-intalled, they are sempron based systems so they should get the job done.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 05:48 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

That's an older computer. That's why the ram was upgradable. The ones they're currently building have thier own voltages that make you buy your memory through them.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 07:57 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Nothing beats a laptop for a college computer.
Brently54 is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 08:58 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Brently54
Nothing beats a laptop for a college computer.
Couldn't agree less. Kids invent uses for the laptop, but they really, really, really don't need them in multiple places. ESPECIALLY the kids that aren't computer geeks like the dudes on here.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.