CMOS Battery for Dell - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2009, 07:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
billiegirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 47
Default CMOS Battery for Dell

I hope I'm in the right section (sorry if not)

My Dell (XPS Gen 4) battery has decided to start dying on me. This morning got the warning message it was low. After some research seems to be a common thing on these machine for the battery not have a long life span (5 years max).

I really should get a new PC but funds don't allow it and beside the day I do get a new one, I want this PC to go the kids so they have something to use.

Anyway rambling on lol I need to know beside taking the battery out and seeing what type it is, is there any other way I can find out what it is beside taking it out. The Dell website is pretty useless to be honest, providing any information on parts. (or I blind and didn't see it lol)

Also I read, I need to write down my CMOS settings, so need to know how to do this. Some suggested programs that can do this but need a working Floppy drive and mine doesn't work (another thing that died on it lol) some said can use USB stick but motherboard has to be new enough to accept that I don't think mine would be.

So how do I access the CMOS setting and write down all the settings. And basically a guide or website how to take out the CMOS battery and place a new one in would be wonderful (something step by step with picture maybe so I don't stuff it up lol)

Any help would be appreciated

Cheers
__________________

__________________
A aussie mum to three little rug rats :D
With a bad warcraft addiction lol
billiegirl is offline  
Old 06-22-2009, 08:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: CMOS Battery for Dell

Is this a desktop or a laptop?

The CMOS settings are your BIOS settings (accessed by pressing a key during bootup, usually also called "Setup"). If you have not changed anything in them, then you shouldn't have to write anything down as theya re most likely at default settings anyway, and will be reset to default when you remove the CMOS battery.

IF this is a desktop, then just power down your computer, remove the power cable from the computer, open the side panel, and you'll see a silver coin battery on the motherboard. Just pop this out, and take note of the number on the battery (most likely CR2032). Buy a new battery with that model, and pop the new one in. Start the computer back up and you're good to go.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-22-2009, 08:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: CMOS Battery for Dell

Carnage nailed it to a "T". Unless you are overclocking the XPS you should be fine without worrying about the settings.

Oh, and good to see you back on the forums. Nice to know you haven't forgotten us.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-22-2009, 09:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
billiegirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 47
Default Re: CMOS Battery for Dell

Thank you carnage

yeah it a desktop I have not change anything in the CMOS setting so should be fine then (one less thing to worry about lol) you been a great help...

Thanks Trotter forums like this are great for noobs like me lol
__________________
A aussie mum to three little rug rats :D
With a bad warcraft addiction lol
billiegirl is offline  
Old 06-22-2009, 09:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: CMOS Battery for Dell

No problem, glad to help.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-23-2009, 10:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: CMOS Battery for Dell

I always just take the old battery with me to Radio Shack or somewhere similar. Writing the number down helps, but I find that it's good to also have the physical battery there in case I need to compare sizes or anything like that.

The only thing you might need to reset is your clock. This will be the only thing set to default that will affect your usage (again, assuming you haven't overclocked or changed any other settings.)
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 06-23-2009, 10:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: CMOS Battery for Dell

Quote:
Originally Posted by synergy View Post
I always just take the old battery with me to Radio Shack or somewhere similar. Writing the number down helps, but I find that it's good to also have the physical battery there in case I need to compare sizes or anything like that.
That helps as well (especially if a salesmaker ends up helping you). I can't name the amount of times somebody comes in asking for a battery, and has the wrong numbers written down, and have NO idea wtf they want. So I end up having to tell them to just bring the battery down.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 03:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
billiegirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 47
Default Re: CMOS Battery for Dell

OK I take the battery with me then (make it easier for everyone lol)

I probably do it tomorrow, got to move the graphic card out of the way to get to it but should be easy... it should just pop out I hope lol (battery that is lol)
__________________
A aussie mum to three little rug rats :D
With a bad warcraft addiction lol
billiegirl is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 04:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: CMOS Battery for Dell

Yeah, you just have to pop it out. Just make sure you ahve the computer off/unplugged, and there should be a little metal clip holding the battery in that you'll have to push back. You'll see its easy once you actually get a look at it .
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 12:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
billiegirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 47
Default Re: CMOS Battery for Dell

Ok having an issue (as usual computers are never that easy lol) got the battery all is ok but when I turn her on she just beeps at me.. wont boot or anything just does these 3-4 beeps.. so no idea what goes on there..

I took the battery to the shops and they match it so I know it right and I clip it back in fine.. but yeah now it wont boot and keeps doing this beep noise so need help please
__________________

__________________
A aussie mum to three little rug rats :D
With a bad warcraft addiction lol
billiegirl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this the correct cmos battery? darsunt Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 05-15-2009 09:04 PM
CMOS battery is not secure in its slot Chosenbkr Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-23-2008 03:17 AM
Cmos Battery Replacement schmicky2 System Upgrades 0 02-27-2008 01:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.