Cloning/Imaging - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2016, 09:15 AM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Cloning/Imaging

Quote:
Originally Posted by rulezero View Post
I understand that, but would be cloning a image for work purposes, not to take home or sell externally...

If you dont clone/ image then it must take you guys ages! to build servers etc...
You must not know what SCCM is.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 09:16 AM   #12 (permalink)
Night Ninja
 
MidnightShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 776
Default Re: Cloning/Imaging

Okay, I got you. Yeah, I've never heard that cloning anything was illegal (in the IT world that is), but if you're making a copy to take home, sell, etc then yeah. I get that. Gotta have them images, though!

EDIT: What you're describing with the government software is stealing. When I say clone, I mean for a valid mission critical purpose. Regardless of the software you use.
__________________

__________________
MidnightShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 09:19 AM   #13 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Cloning/Imaging

Clonezilla for home use, and have used SCCM (preferred) and Ghost in work place environments. However Ghost should be ditched IMO as its aging...there's also the alternative to SCCM called FoG (Free Opensource Ghost), which you can setup an imaging server like SCCM and image over the network that way as well.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 09:20 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Cloning/Imaging

Im not talking about cloning classified data. Im talking about cloning a image for a server, thin client, standlone PC etc..

Who in there right mind would clone a machine with personal data on in to then image new machines - defeats the objective.

I've worked in Gov too and only thing that is illegal is copying data / files, taking paper copies out of the premises without authorization or verbally sharing sensitive info.

Staff at the Gov dept I was in had be be SC cleared and needed to sign the "secrets act" as the information / data was that sensitive and you could not be employed without the two.

PS I know what SCCM is, I have implemented SCCM 2012 R2 it in a company and administered it.

We used it with MDT to image machines and push out apps..

edited
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 09:21 AM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Cloning/Imaging

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightShadow View Post
Okay, I got you. Yeah, I've never heard that cloning anything was illegal (in the IT world that is), but if you're making a copy to take home, sell, etc then yeah. I get that. Gotta have them images, though!
I'm not saying the act of cloning for the purpose of IT work is illegal, I'm saying cloning something here would be cloning government/military property which can be looked at as espionage. Make sense now? That's why we have a big system and an order of the way we do things here. Why cloning is simply NOT allowed. We have a huge SCCM system here in place that basically detects a machine by MAC and S# and applies a designated image with preinstalled software based on those prerequisites. THis way here nobody is cloning to keep software installed, software asset management is kept in check so we don't get tagged by an audit. We also have a system set in place for backing up a user's profile if need be.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 09:21 AM   #16 (permalink)
Night Ninja
 
MidnightShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 776
Default Re: Cloning/Imaging

I've never used SCCM, so I can't comment on it. I'll have to check into FoG.

EDIT: I've not managed SCCM before. We used that at a previous job, however, that would push an image out to a machine that was replaced or not working properly.
__________________
MidnightShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 09:26 AM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Cloning/Imaging

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightShadow View Post
Okay, I got you. Yeah, I've never heard that cloning anything was illegal (in the IT world that is), but if you're making a copy to take home, sell, etc then yeah. I get that. Gotta have them images, though!

EDIT: What you're describing with the government software is stealing. When I say clone, I mean for a valid mission critical purpose. Regardless of the software you use.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rulezero View Post
Im not talking about cloning classified data. Im talking about cloning a image for a server, thin client, standlone PC etc..

Who in there right mind would clone a machine with personal data on in to then image new machines - defeats the objective.

I've worked in Gov too and only thing that is illegal is copying data / files, taking paper copies out of the premises without authorization or verbally sharing sensitive info.

Staff at the Gov dept I was in had be be SC cleared and needed to sign the "secrets act" as the information / data was that sensitive and you could not be employed without the two.

PS I know what SCCM is, I have implemented SCCM 2012 R2 it in a company and administered it.

We used it with MDT to image machines and push out apps..

SCCM on its own cannot image a machine.
You two must not realize that cloning is simply copying. Copying software off a government harddrive is well, espionage if looked at it that way regardless of the purpose of copying. Hence my explanation before and why we have systems in place to make sure nobody is cloning drives. It's up to whoever is doing the punishing if they want to call it that. Working for a government facility dealing with straight politics and working for a military defense contract that also deals with classified data are two different ballparks. I mean, I can get fired if I accidentally open my camera app on my phone and the wrong person sees it. Don't have to take a picture, there's no plausible deniability.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 09:29 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Cloning/Imaging

PP we are only talking about base image, cloning a Windows server 2012 image is not illegal in the Gov as they do not own the OS - cloning the OS with info/ data belonging to the Gov on the server image is illegal unless authorized of course.

Hope we all understand now
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 09:31 AM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Cloning/Imaging

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightShadow View Post
I've never used SCCM, so I can't comment on it. I'll have to check into FoG.

EDIT: I've not managed SCCM before. We used that at a previous job, however, that would push an image out to a machine that was replaced or not working properly.
Ours pushes the software that the machine has linked to it as well. Each asset is linked to a user. If they require a certain software to be installed they have to get approval first, a key managed in SLIM is linked to the asset, then the software is pushed to that asset over the network. If a user's HDD dies we order up a new one, a team Gdisk's it to make sure it's deader than a doornail, then it's sent to the scrapper. Plop the encrypted thumb drive into the machine and let SCCM do all the work. When it's done all the user's software will be reinstalled, user's info linked to Outlook and such automatically from AD, all licenses still matched up and good, and if we need to redo the profile that software is over the network too. Absolutely no reason for cloning here at all, so if you're caught doing it you have all eyes on you and for good reason.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 09:34 AM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Cloning/Imaging

Quote:
Originally Posted by rulezero View Post
PP we are only talking about base image, cloning a Windows server 2012 image is not illegal in the Gov as they do not own the OS - cloning the OS with info/ data belonging to the Gov on the server image is illegal unless authorized of course.

Hope we all understand now
I explained that twice now already, and a 3rd time below your post. I said WHERE I WORK cloning is illegal, it can and most likely will be considered espionage because there's absolutely NO REASON to clone here. It even says in contracting and Lockheed handbook for Maintech and EBS personnel that you can be fined and or tried for espionage depending on data that has been copied. That includes simply making a clone of a base image drive. They look at it as an act of spying, if it's for IT purposes or not because there is no reason to clone here.

Hope YOU understand that. The OP clearly stated "what cloning software do you use at work". I don't, I'd rather not have the bitchy FBI agents up my ***.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAID Drives Cloning kwanjie Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 03-12-2005 03:09 PM
Hard Drive Cloning OCC Fan Microsoft Windows and Software 6 02-02-2005 04:18 PM
Cloning IDE to SATA Poofky Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 08-10-2004 11:07 AM
cloning objects in Delphi Kilgayne Programming 1 01-31-2004 01:49 AM
cloning HD shaggy Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 01-26-2004 08:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.