Cloning/Imaging - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2016, 08:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: new york
Posts: 21
Talking Cloning/Imaging

I am not currently employed in the I.T. field but expect that to change. I am currious as to what type of cloning/imaging software you use at your workplace. Norton, Clonezilla, WDS/WDT??? Which ones should I be familiar with?

I would like to hear from a few techies about this.

Thanks,
joe.
__________________

jefferj54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 08:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Night Ninja
 
MidnightShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 776
Default Re: Cloning/Imaging

I've used Clonezilla a few times, but we also use Acronis and I prefer Macrium over all of them. Those are probably the most common three used.
__________________

__________________
MidnightShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 08:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Cloning/Imaging

We don't clone where I work, it's illegal. For home use I typically use Acronis because I'm lazy.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 08:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Night Ninja
 
MidnightShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 776
Default Re: Cloning/Imaging

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
We don't clone where I work, it's illegal.
It's illegal? I'm confused by that...
__________________
MidnightShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 08:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Cloning/Imaging

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightShadow View Post
It's illegal? I'm confused by that...
I work for the government.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 09:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Night Ninja
 
MidnightShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 776
Default Re: Cloning/Imaging

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
I work for the government.
So do I, but we still use images. Do you guys not image your workstations in case of failure?
__________________
MidnightShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 09:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Cloning/Imaging

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
I work for the government.
cloning is not illegal... anywhere in the world...

Its just cloning an image you want to deploy on multiple machines or servers...
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 09:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Cloning/Imaging

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightShadow View Post
So do I, but we still use images. Do you guys not image your workstations in case of failure?
We use SCCM for imaging purposes (Lockheed image, not OEM). Nothing is allowed to be cloned and if a drive dies it gets scrapped in a giant metal scraper. If you're caught using a cloning software on a device that is an imaged asset more than likely the worst that will happen is you lose your job. Although it does say in the handbook that you can get fined for copying government property yada yada. I suspect most of the legality issue comes with classified info handling and not your average joe ****.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 09:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Cloning/Imaging

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
We use SCCM for imaging purposes (Lockheed image, not OEM). Nothing is allowed to be cloned and if a drive dies it gets scrapped in a giant metal scraper. If you're caught using a cloning software on a device that is an imaged asset more than likely the worst that will happen is you lose your job. Although it does say in the handbook that you can get fined for copying government property yada yada. I suspect most of the legality issue comes with classified info handling and not your average joe ****.
I understand that, but would be cloning a image for work purposes, not to take home or sell externally...

If you dont clone/ image then it must take you guys ages! to build servers etc...
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 09:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Cloning/Imaging

Quote:
Originally Posted by rulezero View Post
cloning is not illegal... anywhere in the world...

Its just cloning an image you want to deploy on multiple machines or servers...
K.

Walk into the datacenter across the hall from me, pop a spare drive in and clone some classified data. See what happens. Cloning a drive has more than one purpose than simply making a base image. In fact, we run SCCM here just to avoid that at all costs due to asset management and software asset management. Last time I checked copying copyrighted or classified government software/files was illegal..... If you work for a rinky dink company with a small IT side sure, do what you want and nobody will care (because making a baseline image of an OS isn't illegal). When you work at a place like here you have to mind your Ps and Qs and keep everything politically correct. I don't even bring my "questionably acquired" software from home here to run, even if all of my machines but 2 are off the network. Mainly because I have 2 Colonels behind me, FBI down the hall the other way, and nothing but DCMA around me.

To spell it out a bit further, you can't even be caught plugging your phone into an LMI asset to charge. You could lose your job. Thumb drives aren't permitted in a lot of areas and you'll get an email when you plug one in asking the purpose of it and if it's cleared for use.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAID Drives Cloning kwanjie Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 03-12-2005 03:09 PM
Hard Drive Cloning OCC Fan Microsoft Windows and Software 6 02-02-2005 04:18 PM
Cloning IDE to SATA Poofky Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 08-10-2004 11:07 AM
cloning objects in Delphi Kilgayne Programming 1 01-31-2004 01:49 AM
cloning HD shaggy Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 01-26-2004 08:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.