cliche video card question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2008, 11:46 PM   #11 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Re: cliche video card question

I think I'll just stick with something cheap for now and dump 100-150 on the card later.

In that case, I may just get a small form 8400GS that should work for a couple weeks until my following paycheck...
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 09:23 AM   #12 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: cliche video card question

Instead of buying now, wait until your paycheck and buy better.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 10:45 AM   #13 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Re: cliche video card question

Well, yeah. But then again, I may as well have a backup PCIe card right? lol. I have three or four random AGP video cards laying around and with all the work I do on my own and my friends and family's computers, they come in handy at times.

Of course, the mobo I ordered does have onboard, but I don't know if I can use that for an entire week (Oh, my!).
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 02-03-2008, 04:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Re: cliche video card question

Newegg.com - EVGA 256-P2-N615-TX GeForce 7600GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
EVGA 256-P2-N615-TX GeForce 7600GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR3

I'm extending the budget, I'm liking this EVGA card.
In order to do that, I'm taking the processor down a notch, and I have a question about that.

The Celeron E1200 only has 512 cache whereas the Pentium E1240 has 1mb. Is it that much of a difference, both are dual core, both have the same cores, yadda yadda. I can only assume that even the Celeron version will outperform my current Athlon 3400+ and I have also heard it's easily overclockable.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 06:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Re: cliche video card question

Bump, it's been a few days...

I bought the E2140 and plan to overclock it, but now I have an extended budget for the vid card, I'm planning on getting a 8600GTS, but what's with the clock speeds? I'm looking at newegg, and many manufacturers are stock overclocking the cards, and I'm wondering if a 20-50mhz bump is worth the price.

I have my eye on this guy impaticularly: Newegg.com - EVGA 256-P2-N761-AR GeForce 8600GTS 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
I want single slot cooling, but still active, and I want reliability as well, that's why I picked a card that's not overclocked, I have heard about stock oc'd cards getting too hot.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 07:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: cliche video card question

If you're going for the 8600GTS then you may as well pay that bit extra for the Radeon 3850.

Newegg.com - GECUBE GC-HD3850PG3-D3R Radeon HD 3850 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Retail

The slightly higher pricetag is worth it, it totally pwns all 8600s.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 07:20 PM   #17 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Re: cliche video card question

256 bit in that price range, now that's what I'm talking about, but what is PCIe 2.0?

Newegg.com - BIOSTAR 945GC Micro 775 LGA 775 Intel 945GC Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail This is my board, I can only assume that since it's new, it can support 2.0, but it doesn't seem to be in the specs.

Also, the 6 pin connector, I have to dig out my spare modular PSU wires to see if I have that one, I do believe the 8600GTS does not require an extra connector.

If I find the connector though and my board supports 2.0, that card may be a taker, if not for the 256 bit alone.

EDIT: It comes with a power adapter, but I know for a fact that I don't have two extra molex connectors to make it work...
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 01:07 AM   #18 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Re: cliche video card question

So reading more, it looks like the card is backwards compat with PCIe x16, but I am going to upgrade the PSU since mine is only a single rail anyway.

I found this today, and I think it'll be perfect.
Newegg.com - Thermaltake TR2 RX W0136RU ATX12V Ver2.2 500W Power Supply 115/230 V UL, CUL, TUV, FCC and CE certification - Retail

Good enough to power everything?

E2140 gonna be oc'd
2x1gb G.Skill DDR2
Radeon HD 3850
one HDD and one optical drive

A very humble system, but I know that power demands are ever expanding...
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 09:09 PM   #19 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: cliche video card question

Yep. That will do it.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about video card pkxo New Systems | Building and Buying 0 01-23-2008 08:32 PM
Possible video card issue -- ATI X1650 houndofspace Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 12-04-2007 02:17 AM
what video card? nhlrocker New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-19-2007 10:51 AM
Video Card Question Indobos New Systems | Building and Buying 20 07-13-2007 10:03 PM
New Video Card Dieo New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-02-2007 11:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.