Clean Install of Visa HELP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2011, 03:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Default Clean Install of Visa HELP

** I already have vista installed on the computer
Can some one please help me. Im new to this . So my computer works but doesnt . Like i can log in into a adimn account but not a regular. It says Cannot load event log.So im going to do a clean install of vista because when i do restore to factory settings it just restarts the computer.So i have a couple questions

Can i do a clean install with this http://www.cshowcase.com/webfiles/Wi...%20Upgrade.jpg if i can how?


And

If i do a clean install how do i not loose my Drivers(Like GPU,Cpu,sound etc.) or will i not loose my drivers?

BTW i backed up my files
Please get back soon
__________________

wellwood2 is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 03:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Clean Install of Visa HELP

YOU WILL LOSE YOUR DRIVERS. No changing that. It's part of the reason you fresh install to begin with.

If you put the disk in and restart does it just go to windows again?
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 04:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

You will loss your driver. Abstract already said it but I a confirming it. No way to get around that. You loss evrything when yu do a clean install. All files and drivers.

As for your questoon, no. You cannot do a clean install with the media shown. Well let me clarify that. You can but it is not supported. Microsft doesnt support such methods and very few places will. That is Upgrade Media for a reason. It is to upgrade a previous version to that version. It is not meant to be used for a clean install.
KSoD is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 04:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Default Re: Clean Install of Visa HELP

How do i make it so i dont loose my drivers?

If i cant what you you recommend doing?
As i said my recover disks dont work
:O i just thought of something my dad has a upgrade to windows 7 should i upgrade the computer to 7 then upgrade to vista?
wellwood2 is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 04:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Clean Install of Visa HELP

You will lose your drivers no matter what no fix for that. NO MATTER WHAT you will have to reinstall them.

Why would you upgrade to 7 and then go back to vista??!!!

My opinion? upgrade to 7 and stay there.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 05:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Clean Install of Visa HELP

You can't upgrade 7 to Vista. 7 is the newest.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 05:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

There is no way to keep your drivers. None, nada, zip, zilch, zero.

Also you cant upgrade to Win7 then go back to Vista. Ot is an Upgrade Disk. It is not an upgrade if you go from a newer version of Windowzz to an older version. It cannot be done.

The only way it could he is to reinstall Windows XP then use the Vista upgrade disk to reinstall Vista.

Any which way you look at it you are going to have to format, loss your drivers and reinstall. How you go about the reinstall is going to be tricky cause you only have upgrade media. If you choose to go to Win7 you will need to do so from a completely operational and functional version of Vista. If there is any issues with your Vista install it will be compounded when you upgrade to Win7.
KSoD is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 05:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Default Re: Clean Install of Visa HELP

How would i reninstall them.Arent they in the computer(Gpu and cpu and sound)Im on a laptop
__________________

wellwood2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
clean install dixierose Microsoft Windows and Software 0 03-02-2011 03:47 AM
Clean install for XP, help! Deathcakes Microsoft Windows and Software 3 10-24-2009 02:25 PM
how do i do a CLEAN install of XP Pro NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 3 02-16-2006 02:15 PM
how often do u clean install xp?? crow0021 Microsoft Windows and Software 24 01-24-2005 01:24 AM
Doing a Clean install of XP? mrdinkel Microsoft Windows and Software 3 01-14-2003 09:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.