Clarify Differences Between HDD types - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2006, 02:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Default Clarify Differences Between HDD types

Hello all!!! I need a little bit of help... I am trying to get one or the other of these WD Raptors...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...SubCategory=14

Now the question is what is the difference between a Serial ATA150 Hard Drive and a SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive? My mobo manufactures web site says i have 4 x Serial ATA II connector (Bandwidth 3.0Gb/s) . Could i put in two of one kind of those raptors with my mobo?

Manufactuers Website:

http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/...A-8N-SLI%20Pro
__________________

mastercheif1231 is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 03:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

The 150GB is much faster.

Sata 2 is unneeded since you will not be reaching those speeds unless you run maybe 2 to 4 in RAID 0.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 03:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnnyX
Default

The 150gb has double the Cache 16mb.
__________________
The enemy of my enemy might just be my enemy…
JohnnyX is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 03:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Default

ok...i just need to know the difference between the two hard drive types(Serial ATA150 Hard Drive and a SATA 3.0Gb/s) and if they will work in my mobo
mastercheif1231 is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 04:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnnyX
Default

One can transfer data at 150Mbs and the other 3Gps, They both will work with your mobo.
__________________
The enemy of my enemy might just be my enemy…
JohnnyX is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 06:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Sata 2 is twice the speed as Sata 1 but there aren't any single drives that can reach sata 1 speeds unless you set a RAID up.

They both work with each other.
turtile is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 10:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Default

ok so if i got two of them how could i RAID them together. i have always wanted to RAID, but i never learned how. So if you could please post like a tutorial on how to RAID i would be greatful. thank you.
mastercheif1231 is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 10:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

It depends on your controller. They are all different. You set it up in the BIOS and install the drivers before you install windows.
turtile is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 10:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

depends on if you have an integrated RAID controller because otherwise you will have to buy one
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 03:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Default

how do i check if i have an integrated RAID controller or not?
__________________

mastercheif1231 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.