Choppy gameplay due to integrated sound card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2005, 12:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default Choppy gameplay due to integrated sound card?

I have the following problems when playing games:

At certain points the screen freezes and the last sound heard repeats. This lasts for a few seconds and happens frequently throughout the game.

If this is being caused by the integrated sound card i obviously need a new one simply to stop the problem and not to make the sound fantastic. I need the cheapest one that will work and consume the least amount of power possible. I am just interested in getting the games to play flawlessly.
__________________

stainer711 is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 12:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

You could go on ebay and or newegg.com and get a low profile PCI sound card... A cheap one would fix your problem because the onboard is really really junky.

Anything is better than onboard.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 12:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default

actually, what video card do you have? I used to have that problem while playing some higher end games on an fx5200.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 12:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default

I have a geforce 7800 gt on a 350 wat pc. How much power does one usually take?
stainer711 is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 05:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default

hmmm thats a little low for that video card, and that could be a reason why. From what i read, a recommended wattage is 450.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 08:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

at newegg they said the recommended is 480w. but yah u need a better PSU. get at least 500w or higher
__________________

__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.