Choosing PCIE cables for PowerColor Radeon HD6870 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2012, 03:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Unhappy Choosing PCIE cables for PowerColor Radeon HD6870

Forgive me if this thread is incredibly stupid, but I've been having trouble with this for sort of a while and I'm about to fall asleep. I don't even know if I'll Finnish this thread before I pass out. -_-"

I have a Gateway DX4300-11 PC and I've been trying to get a PowerColor Radeon HD 6870 working with it. The issue I'm having is regarding the PCIE power connector. More specifically; there is only one power connector coming from my PSU, and my video card requires two.



I have PoWork 650W ATX PSU with only one PCIE power connector. I've been trying to find a splitter or something that can turn a PCIE connector into two of them, but I keep buying the wrong thing. This has been going on for a month now.

[/facepalm]

Again, I'm sorry if this is stupid. Maybe I'm just losing my mind, but I could really use someone's help finding an adapter that will allow me to plug enough power into this thing to get it working. I can't seem to get the right thing for it. The system doesn't recognize it, and I'm assuming that is because of the power issue.

Please help.
__________________

__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 01-26-2012, 08:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Choosing PCIE cables for PowerColor Radeon HD6870

Amazon.com: StarTech.com 6-Inch LP4 to 6 Pin PCI Express Video Card Power Cable Adapter (LP4PCIEXADAP): Computers & Accessories
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-26-2012, 11:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: Choosing PCIE cables for PowerColor Radeon HD6870

Your power supply could very well be an issue. It is a cheap, low quality one. Not only that, but the design is not up to modern standards. Look at the amperage:
"+3.3V, 32 A
+5V, 36 A
+12V, 30 A
-12V, 1.0 A
+5Vsb, 2.0A"

Here is a modern, quality power supply for comparison: Corsair TX650 V2
Newegg.com - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V v2.31/ EPS12V v2.92 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC High Performance Power Supply
+3.3V@25A, +5V@25A, +12V@53A, -12V@0.8A, +5VSB@3.0A

Notice a difference? Modern PSUs put the majority of the amperage on the 12 volt rail. This is used by your video card. Older power supplies used to have amperage split between 3.3,5, and 12 volt rails. With less emphasis placed on the 12 volt rail.

Even if the adaptor works, I recommend a new power supply. The one posted above would work well and be reliable.

Edit: Heres a review of your power supply
The Bargain Basement Power Supply Roundup Review
__________________
Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 01-26-2012, 02:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Default Re: Choosing PCIE cables for PowerColor Radeon HD6870



Wow, thanks for pointing that out. I'll have to get a new one eventually. O_O I've been using the PSU that came with the system when I got it, which I'm pretty sure isn't the one it came with.

@Fat.Clown Thanks for that. I hope that works. Some reason whenever I look for this stuff, I end up getting the wrong thing.
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 01-26-2012, 03:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Choosing PCIE cables for PowerColor Radeon HD6870



:P
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radeon HD6870 Drivers crash duckster18 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 01-10-2012 05:33 PM
PowerColor ATI Radeon 9550 xMC91x System Upgrades 5 08-18-2006 04:16 PM
Radeon X800Pro PCIE 256M V/VIVO/D andy43 System Upgrades 3 01-13-2006 03:34 AM
sapphire/powercolor Radeon 9600 advice PsychoticBoy Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 06-10-2004 05:02 AM
PowerColor Radeon Pro brew01 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 08-05-2003 11:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.