Choosing an AMD processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2009, 04:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Default Choosing an AMD processor

I am building an AMD computer and I have everything picked out. However I am torn between two CPUs.

The first is: AMD Athlon II X4 620 Propus 2.6GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon II X4 620 Propus 2.6GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

The other is: AMD Phenom II X3 720 2.8GHz 3 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Black
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X3 720 2.8GHz 3 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Black Processor - Processors - Desktops

I need some input on which one is better for all-around gaming and multitasking.

I'm basically looking for the most bang for my buck. There is about a $20 difference in price between the two (the quad core is cheaper).

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!
__________________

bluepan is offline  
Old 09-18-2009, 04:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Choosing an AMD processor

Depends on which motherboard you are using.

I'd get the Propus if you don't have a board that can do Advanced Clock Calibration. Get the Phenom II X3 720 if you do have it, it can unlock the 4th core (possibly, but not 100%).

I'd prefer the Propus Athlon II X4 for $99 though.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-18-2009, 04:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Choosing an AMD processor

I'm adding one more into the mix........

AMD Athlon II X4 630 Propus 2.8GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core



My MB= GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P
bluepan is offline  
Old 09-18-2009, 06:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Choosing an AMD processor

the propus 620 and 630 are the same cpu, except that the more expensive 630 is clocked 200mhz higher stock. i wouldnt consider it since you can easily OC the 620 by 200mhz higher yourself.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 09-18-2009, 06:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Choosing an AMD processor

Is the Phenom II the better of the three simply based on the 6mb L3 cache?
bluepan is offline  
Old 09-18-2009, 07:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Choosing an AMD processor

If you game or multitask, you'd see more of a difference from the extra core than the extra cache.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-21-2009, 02:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Choosing an AMD processor

I say get the 620, if you do decide on a board with ACC there's a chance you can unlock L3 cache. If you don't get a board with ACC, at least you'll have a quad, that newer games can take advantage of.
__________________

__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD 6000+ Dual Core Processor SapperX Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 5 08-13-2009 12:26 PM
AMD Delivers the World's First 1GHz Graphics Processor Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 05-17-2009 02:00 PM
AMD Demonstrates Twelve-Core Microprocessors Trotter New Technology and Products 11 05-06-2009 12:24 PM
AMD to make "significant corporate announcement" tomorrow, possibly breaking up Wildside Polls 8 10-11-2008 07:59 PM
help choosing a processor.. escallui System Upgrades 32 12-05-2007 09:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.