Check Specs Please. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2006, 12:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default Check Specs Please.

Hey, im gonna order tommorrow and i just wanna make sure its all good. Aka get advice from the experts u. Heres what i have.

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ 2.00GHz
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...=CP1-AM2-3800X

MOBO: MSI K9N Platinum NVIDIA Socket AM2 ATX Motherboard
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...&sku=M452-2826

Case with PSU: Ultra Black Aluminus ATX Mid-Tower Case
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...&sku=TC3J-2145

Hard Drive: Western Digital / Caviar SE 16 / 250GB / Hard Drive
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...&sku=TSD-250KS

Optical Drive: Sony DRU810A 16x DVD Burner
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...&sku=S167-4212

Ram: Ultra 1024MB PC4200 DDR2 533MHz Memory
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...8&sku=ULT31690

Graphics: BFG Geforce FX5500 (This is temporary untill my next paycheck comes in.)
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...160&CatId=1603

I think it all should work fine, but if u have any suggestions i would love em, but this is gonna cost me like a 1000 or just a little over, and im in canada so i cant use newegg. Would love any insight.
__________________

__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 12:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default

Yeah, that looks nice. Good idea to replace that FX5500 if you want a balanced system.

Maybe 2 Gigs of RAM fairly soon.
__________________

__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 12:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

comeone the FX5000 is the bomb, i can get 60FPS in pong.....
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 01:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Get faster dual channel ram.
brinks is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 01:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

so something like this?

OCZ Dual Channel 1024MB PC4200 DDR2 533MHz Gold Memory (2 x 512MB)
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...511239&CatId=0

or

Corsair TWINX 1024MB PC5400 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 Memory (2 x 512MB)
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...ab=11&NoMapp=0
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 01:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Yes, something like that.
Get the Corsair ram.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.