Check This Setup, Please - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2006, 06:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
There is no reason to buy an AMD system right now unless you are a fanboy who wants a slower computer for more money.

That is all I have to say here.
I have to admit, I am an AMD fan also, but the General is totally right here....

For a Core 2 Duo, you could have better performance for LESS, as well as having the system use less energy over time resulting in lower electric bills.

Have you even LOOKED at the C2D's??
E6400
E6600

The cost of even the E6600 PLUS a good aftermarket cooler would be less than the X2 5200.... and would STOMP it.
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 06:44 PM   #12 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Good to see you around, Shoobie. I've been wondering where you got off to.

Nice system. And AMD is still good to go. Their quads should be AM2 when they come out next year.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 09:11 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem
no reason at this point to go SLI... MORE than enough power in one to handle anything you throw at it now.. wait a while and see what happens... then decide if you want SLI or not...
Actually, there's a LOT of reason to "go SLI"...Those reasons start with AutoCAD, and end with 3DS-Max.

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
Good to see you around, Shoobie. I've been wondering where you got off to.
Been busy. Promotion at work, new car, travel, etc, etc...

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
Nice system. And AMD is still good to go. Their quads should be AM2 when they come out next year.
Fanboy or not, I'm sticking with the manuf. that has given me more hassel-free chips, better quality, and better innovation, over the years. And Intel is more of a "fanboy" of my wallet than my PC.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 03:08 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

DAYUM!

I just got my case in (had to open it in the office, of course)...This sucker is SWEEET!!! Hat's off to Thermaltake for a great case design!

----------------
Case
Thermaltake Black Armor Full-Tower
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...&sku=T925-2068

----------------

This case is SOLID, and is loaded with lots of cool (and useful) features, including the built-in blowhole, fully-tool-less design, water-cooling-ready, and a moveable power-button module! Check it out, it was definately worth the coin!

Got some of the other components, too...but until the rest of the system comes together, all they do is look shiny and cool.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 03:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 259
Default

Jesus. 10 5.25" drive bays. That's a hot wheels garage, not a computer case.
n30phYte is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 03:17 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by n30phYte
Jesus. 10 5.25" drive bays. That's a hot wheels garage, not a computer case.
Case is HEAVY and HUGE...but I got a lot of drives to put in it, and desktop cases really aren't meant to be moved...Plus the steel construction is quieter than aluminumuminuminii....wii....yeah
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.