check pc specs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2007, 03:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default check pc specs

Im kinda new at the whole customize a pc thing so I have been slowly trying to teach myself about the different components. I have looked on a site called www.komplett.com and set up a pc. I'd like to check with people that have more knowledge than me whether these pc specs are any good.

_Fortron/Source Powersupply ATX 400W
_OCZ DDR2 PC6400 2048MB KIT, Titanium
_NEC DVD┬▒recorder AD-7173 IDE Black OEM
_AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ 2.6GHz Socket AM2
_Samsung SpinPoint P120 250GB SATA2
_Gigabyte Poseidon GZ-XA1CA-STB Black
_ABIT KN9 Ultra, nForce 570 Ultra,
_Club3D Radeon X1600Pro 256MB, GDDR3
_Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium Eng
__________________

psychotic_haze is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 03:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

I would reccomend going down the intel core 2 duo route atm as they are great price/performance nvidia graphics card i prefer aswell
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 03:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by saltynay
I would reccomend going down the intel core 2 duo route atm as they are great price/performance nvidia graphics card i prefer aswell
I thought Amd's were supposed to be better
psychotic_haze is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 03:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by psychotic_haze
I thought Amd's were supposed to be better
They were, before Intel released the Core 2 Duo's..
Ste is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 03:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Is everything compatible with each other though and is £800 a good price (includes 17" monitor)
psychotic_haze is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 03:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

I think you should check this website :http://tomshardware.co.uk/cpu/charts.html
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 03:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by saltynay
I think you should check this website :http://tomshardware.co.uk/cpu/charts.html
thanks for the site- very useful
psychotic_haze is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 03:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 224
Default

if i were you, i would avoid vista untill they get all the bugs out
GSM CEO is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 03:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GSM CEO
if i were you, i would avoid vista untill they get all the bugs out
but all microsoft os's have bugs
psychotic_haze is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 03:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 224
Default

yes, but Vista is the worst right now -

like all new relese's there are kinks, and i would avoid it UNTIL they get them out
__________________

GSM CEO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.