Cheapest build possible! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2007, 04:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default Cheapest build possible!

Hello,

My GF`s pc is rubbish an old P2 with 64MB of RAM, she has a monitor keyboard and mouse. I would like some help finding a new pc but for the cheapest possible. I live in the UK but newegg links are acceptable as most of the stuff i can find over here.

it has to be under £150 or $293

needs to include a case,PSU,CPU,mobo with intergrated graphics and audio,hard drive,RAM.

It also has to have some upgradeability so latest sockets or at least ones that can go to dual core or even DDR2 but DDR is fine too.

Iv looked around on online UK retailers but hard to find something for so cheap any help would be appreciated thank you in advance.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 08:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

well Iv done plenty of searching and the cheapest I could get is this:

AMD AMD SEMPRON 2800+ 1.6GHZ Socket AM2 Boxed Processor
http://www.savastore.com/productinfo...ct_id=10289339

Aries 256MB 533MHz PC4200 DDR2 Memory
http://www.savastore.com/productinfo...ct_id=10281095

Elite Computer Systems (UK) Elite K8M890M-M mATX AM2 Audio Lan DDR2 SATA Motherboard
http://www.savastore.com/productinfo...ct_id=10295049

Hitachi Hitachi Deskstar 7K160 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA HDD
http://www.savastore.com/productinfo...ct_id=10294450

Aries MA Blue/Black Midi Tower Case with 300W PSU
http://www.savastore.com/productinfo...ct_id=10280135

Total: £128.47 OR $250

Guess that's the best I can do, shopping at one store seemed wise or shipping costs would push it up even more. At least its upgradeable too.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 08:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

You're running 256mb with onboard graphics? That's not a good idea, I recommend upping the RAM. Also, I'm not sure if that 300W PSU will crap out on you in a matter of weeks...
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 10:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

248MB Of RAM (Depending on the graphics) is a big upgrade from a Pentium 2 with 64MB Of RAM. That was what I did, went from a Celeron with 64 RAM and went up to a Celeron D with 248MB. It was a really big difference!


Oh no...
The video uses 256MB of RAM, leaving you with nothing.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 05:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123


Oh no...
The video uses 256MB of RAM, leaving you with nothing.
Oh never spotted that..guess I`ll have to spend that little bit extra on another 256 stick.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 07:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Or, you can just get one 512mb stick, which is about the same price as 2x256mb?....and upgrade later.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 08:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

yeah but two 256 sticks in dual channel would be better for now, and its not going to be used for anything more than general web surfing and listening to music.

Im tempted to look on ebay for parts but reliabilty would put me off..dont think I can get what i have so far for less then £128 ($250)
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 10:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Why aren't you getting parts from Newegg?

I'm guessing you're using her previous optical drive, mouse, keyboard?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 11:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

I live in the UK newegg doesn't ship to here, although they are meant to be starting a Europe base soon. Most parts on newegg I can get over here anyway the UK has loads of computer websites and plenty of products.

Also yes she already has a monitor, keyboard, mouse so that saves me a lot of money. I wont be buying this stuff for awhile too so prices will hopefully go down a little.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 05:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I don't usually recommend this, but what about a Celeron 1.7 from Ebay? Cheaper and runs pretty good.

This thing is really cheap, 30 pounds, from Ebay.co.uk, all it needs is a larger hard drive for XP, and it's good to go. 256MB of RAM and a P2 450.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Pentium-2-450-...QQcmdZViewItem
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.