cheap way to get the computer moving - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2007, 07:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default cheap way to get the computer moving

ok I help my mom and all the people in her office with there computers, cause they know nothing about them, and one of the computers is a Dell with Intel P4 2.5GHz with 256MB of ram and it is the slowest computer in the office but it dosn't have much on it. What are somethings I could try to get it moving again? Start up is a killer probably 5-10 min and then it is very sluggish once it is on and running. Any ideas would be helpful thanks
__________________

__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 07:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: cheap way to get the computer moving

reformat and a complete new install of windows xp and you will get that great two week performance boost of a clean windows system
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 04:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 18
Default Re: cheap way to get the computer moving

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMD6415 View Post
ok I help my mom and all the people in her office with there computers, cause they know nothing about them, and one of the computers is a Dell with Intel P4 2.5GHz with 256MB of ram and it is the slowest computer in the office but it dosn't have much on it. What are somethings I could try to get it moving again? Start up is a killer probably 5-10 min and then it is very sluggish once it is on and running. Any ideas would be helpful thanks

Run:
ccleaner
spybot search and destroy
adaware

All are free and will make quite a bit of difference in your performance.

Pat
patnshan is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 06:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: cheap way to get the computer moving

Defrag with O&O:
|MG| Free Download - O&O Defrag 2000 Freeware Edition 3.5.562

Download and run BootVis:
|MG| Free Download - BootVis 1.3.37.0

Uninstall anything that is not needed, and redefrag. Run CCleaner's Issues option.

Finally, use MSCONFIG and only allow what is absolutely needed on startup.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 07:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: cheap way to get the computer moving

is O&O better of Diskeeper?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 10:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: cheap way to get the computer moving

The version I linked to is the free one. I use the pro version, and it rocks. Never used Diskeeper, though.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 10:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: cheap way to get the computer moving

Ashampoo WinOptimizer 4
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 12:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,668
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: cheap way to get the computer moving

You also might want to think about upgrading the ram, 256 aint that much. and how fast is it?
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 06:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: cheap way to get the computer moving

sorry to go against the flow but... i think that saltynay had it there. if a machine is taking 5-10 minutes to boot then i know i wouldnt want to be the one to run all those programs on it.
i would simply reformat a machine in that kind of state altough maintenance is very important (i would use those sorts of programs for maintenance as well as msconfig whenever i install a new program as well as for regular maintenance)

P.S. i am well aware that i said the word "maintenance" at least three times in one paragraph lol
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 07:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default Re: cheap way to get the computer moving

ok thanks alot
__________________

__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Computer crash Mr. tech Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-06-2007 10:43 AM
New Computer. Same Issues Duality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-01-2007 10:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.