Cheap video card upgrade - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2006, 12:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Default

AGP 4x doesn't mean 4 Pixel pipelines, it means 4x bandwidth speed. AGP 8x will work no problems with 4x slots, but at half bandwidth.
__________________

Mydraal is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 01:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 125
Default

right. ok

I was also looking at this card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102600

as it has a 500mhz core clock, 256mb memory, and its GDDR2 (which is better, right?) but it doesnt tell me the memory clock on it
__________________

Seraph is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 01:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Sorry about that should of been a bit clearer, try here.
The AGPX number is the number of data packets per clock cycle, so AGP4x has 4 data packets per clock cycle, with AGP8x having 8. So 8 has twice the bandwidth of 4.
Mydraal is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 02:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 125
Default

ok Mydraal, how do I check to see what voltage my mobo is and what the video cards need?
Seraph is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 02:30 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Therin lies the problem, because Dell use Dell parts, there are no full specifications available for their motherboards (that i know of). I've just tried firing up trusty old Everest, and not even that will give me voltages for the AGP port/AGP version. Short of phoning up Dell or ordering a new motherboard i'm not sure there is a way of telling.

A word of caution though, I tried replacing a Geforce 2MX with a Geforce MX440 without checking voltages before, and the result was a crispy MX440 and the distinct smell of burning.

Sorry I can't be of more help

The best thing to do is google your card and get its AGP version/voltage. Then find a new card with the same.

Good luck!
Mydraal is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 04:28 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

didnt think about voltages, but now that i know that all AGP 4x/8x cards will work in AGP 2x/4x slots, heres some MORE sudgestions

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102670 (this one isnt in right now, but you could probably get it soon)

actually, thats the only new card i could come up with.

ive linked you all the good AGP 2x/4x through AGP 4x/8x cards for gaming between $50 and $100

good luck,
Phate
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 05:46 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 125
Default

So between these cards:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102600
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102670
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814145129
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102410

which is the best assuming that they would all work.

And more importantly, HOW do I find out the voltages for them?

My card is a Geforce 4 ti4200 64mb card. Ive been looking for 30 minutes and cant find a clear answer to what the voltage is. If anyone could help me find out, I would appreciate it muchly.
Seraph is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 06:30 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Prolink PixelView GeForce4 Ti4200-8X MVGA-NVG28AL - high-performance graphics processing subsystem, support for both AGP3.0 (AGP8X/4X) and AGP2.0 (AGP4X/2X/1X) systems, and an advanced memory subsystem.
There ya go! (Nasty bugger to google!)

Should mean your mobo is compatable with 99.99999% of cards on the market! Go find a good'un
Mydraal is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 09:38 AM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

this one for sure.

the 6600LE, its the surperior card. i have a 9800 PRO, and i cant do much gaming on it, because of the 64mb ram, anything below that is just crazy.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814145129

-Phate
__________________

__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.