Cheap Video Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2005, 07:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
Default Cheap Video Card

I need something cheap for an emachines w2888. 2.8 478P 128k F 400. 80GB. Are the Rosewill products on NE cheap or really just cheap?
__________________

burnt_bulb is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 08:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

We need more information. AGP or PCI or PCI-express?

Also what's your budget and what will you be using the card for?

Is this your computer? If so, and you want a video card to play games, you're kind of out of luck. It has no AGP slot nor PCI-Express. Only old PCI slots.

In case you don't know, AGP and PCI-Express are the new age slots that transfer data very fast to the computer. Since you don't have either of those, only PCI slots, then the PCI slots are very slow for games. You can play old games but nothing new, and if you can play something new, it'd be very jerky and such.

AGP slots are slowly going away (but still are fast, and still very abundant) and PCI-Express are the new generation. PCI-Express IS different (big time) than PCI.
__________________

__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 08:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

I put a BFG GeForce4 MX 4000 in my w2040.

I tried to look up the stats for your mobo, but couldn't get anything solid. But from what I could see from the pics, it doesn't have an AGP slot.

Try downloading and running either Everest or Belarc Advisor (both are free and available at majorgeeks.com) and post you mobo stats and model number.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 08:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814131411 <<<That is a PCI card that I own, and I could play CS:Source/HL2, but not very well at all and on low settings.

Another "good" (lol) PCI card would be this IMO, but I don't know anything about PCI cards beyond the radeon 9250

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814143032
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 09:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
Default

I am definitely lost in here but I'm trying . Here is the machine I've got. No gaming but I do use this for GIS,Graphical Information System, work. I am bumping the ram up another 512 on top of the 512 I have and a guy at work told me a faster video card would help.
Would someone tell me where to look on the mother board for what it is? The link to the site above gives out nothing.
I really appreciate the help guys.
burnt_bulb is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 09:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

You're link didn't really do anything. It went to emachines site but this is all it said:

BOM for :
Part Category Description Part Number

Well, as for GIS, I have no idea about anything about that. I don't know what kind of video cards you need for it. Assuming that you are doing GIS on an onboard card (whatever came w/ the emachines) then really any card will do better, but I don't know what will be best.

Just wait till someone else can help ya here.

In the meantime, go to this site and read the post, I hope it helps.

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...hreadid=223148

You might want to sign up there. It's Steam's site, basically the creators of Half Life/ Half Life 2 / CounterStrike / Counterstrike:Source. (VERY popular PC games if you don't know) They have a hardware section and the forums are very active. You'll get a quick answer if you need one fast. Tech forums are more helpful/more knowledgable (spelling) but it takes a little longer for replies b/c the community is smaller.
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 11:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
Default

Intel(R) 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller . I got this from Belarc, does it look like the right thing? The suggested upgrade from emachines is a ATI RADEON 9200SE 128 DDR DVI/TV-OUT PCI . This still means means nothing to me, I can project a set of coordinates on any map I have projection information about but I havent learned the mechanics of what makes that happen yet. That sounds like I'm mentally impaired but its just the truth.
burnt_bulb is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 12:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
Default

according to the articla on that link the PCI uses a brown receptacle , I have an old compaq presario mobo that has one of those, the emachines doesnt have that brown slot. I am confused as hell now. But at the emachines parts depot it says ATI RADEON 9200SE 128MB DDR DVI/TV-OUT PCI. But if my mobo doesnt have a PCI receptacle then what?
__________________

burnt_bulb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.