Cheap Graphics for Older Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2006, 10:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 203
Default Cheap Graphics for Older Computer

Right now, my only halfway decent computer is still using an integrated graphics chip with 8 megs of memory. Obviously, it lags slightly in most games I play.

Specs:
HP Pavilion 7845 with Windows ME
-P3 @ 866
-256mb PC100 RAM
-132(ish)-watt PSU (it was this on an identical PC, so I assume that's what I have)
-Free PCI slot (no AGP or PCI-e, just plain old PCI)

I'm looking for an inexpensive upgrade to hold me over for about a year and a half (till Vista is out and the price has gone down on it and the Conroe chips). What graphics card would you recommend?

At nearly every card I've looked at that would be compatible with my computer, it says it requires a 250 watt PSU. Would I need to upgrade mine, or is this just set as a "minimum" because it's the lowest most modern power supplies go? If I do need to upgrade mine, is there one you could recommend?

Because the comp is old, I would really like to not spend very much money on it (perhaps $100 USD for a graphics card and PSU if necessary).

Thanks for your help.
__________________

trekkie00 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 01:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
xpedient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 163
Send a message via Yahoo to xpedient
Default

hey, I think you should consider buying a new PC, not a new card, because that plays a vital role in your game.
__________________

__________________
"Here's a thing about the future; When you look at it, it changes, it's because you look at it...
AND THAT CHANGES EVERYTHING ELSE."

xpedient is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 03:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

yeah no offence but wen u said u had a half decent pc and i looked at the specs
i kind of had a double take
just u[grade to a decent pc and be done with it
it makes no sense to make any upgrades to ure pc because it is so old


im not trying to sound mean or anything but putting a half decent graphics card into a computer like that would also require a PSU upgrade, whick in turn may require a Mobo upgrade
wich would require a CPU and ram up[grade
wile ure at it y not just by a new computer?
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 03:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

You may want to wait for vista and buy all the new stuff at that time.

Upgrading now = waste of money

(to your machine that is )
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 04:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Just run Windows 98 (no flaws in it), and run Solitaire. Because i've reparied many PC's like that, and many customers spend so much money upgrading them. It's not worth it. Even an email to Dell is worth it.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 10:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 203
Default

It's halfway decent because it runs. A decent computer would run well.

I would really like a new computer. The thing is, I really don't have that much money, and it seems that if I do buy a new computer now with what I'm comfortable spending it'll already be out of date. That's why I plan on upgrading next year, when I have more money.

Right now, however, I play quite a bit of Jedi Academy, and my computer runs it all right except for some levels, which do not appear because my computer doesn't support something in them.

It may be $100 down the drain, but that's still much less expensive than a new computer and it's all I would need for awhile. I've gotten used to the lagging by now.

I believe my computer uses a 20-pin connector to the mobo, would I need to upgrade the board?

Or, would I even need to upgrade the PSU with this FX5200?? It doesn't say it needs a power supply, and would support everything I think I need.
__________________
Computers:
(Main Desktop) Phenom 2 X4 965 BE + Scythe Mugen 2 Rev B Heatsink / 4gb DDR3-1600 RAM / nVidia 9800GT / Samsung F3 1tb HDD / Windows 7
(Laptop) Dell Vostro 1400 / Core 2 Duo T5670 1.8ghz / 2gb RAM / 8400M GS / 250gb HDD / Windows 7-Ubuntu Dual Boot
("Media Center" Desktop) Athlon X2 4000+ / 4gb RAM / nVidia 9400 / 250GB + 2TB HDD / Windows 7 Professional x64
trekkie00 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 06:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

He wanted advice on how to upgrade his current PC you think he thought about building a new PC.Plus its still cheaper than building a new PC.dude you could get a new psu for about $25 on newegg and then yeah that FX5200 is a good choice or a fx-5500.
This \/ PSU is a cheap one that will do you good.People dont tell its a cruddy one I KNOW.Well youll be doing good.Youre not gonna be doing any good gaming.Maybe CS 1.5 or 1.6.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817192001
__________________

__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.