Cheap + Dirty NAS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2010, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 203
Default Cheap + Dirty NAS

So, I'm looking into setting up a NAS. I have one 1.5tb hard drive already, and was going to buy another identical one.

I was hoping to avoid buying another desktop computer or a ready-made solution. Right now my desktop is starting to get old but still has enough power to last me for while. However, before too much longer (next year at this time, maybe) I might upgrade to a new computer and then change this one into a media center / storage computer and I really don't need another one.

Right now, I have an old Pentium 3 (866mhz) collecting dust up in the attic. I was hoping to buy this SATA adapter and mount the two 1.5tb hard drives inside it, with the current 40gb IDE drive holding the OS and any programs I need running in the background.

Everything in it should be powerful enough - the current power supply likely isn't but I have an extra 350W Antec lying around which will give enough of a boost. I'm thinking that any speed hit from using a PCI interface should be unnoticeable compared to the ethernet (all my computers are 10/100) or the processor speed.

Are there any other problems I might encounter from this?

This will only be a temporary solution until I get a new desktop and can delegate my current one as a media center / server.
__________________

__________________
Computers:
(Main Desktop) Phenom 2 X4 965 BE + Scythe Mugen 2 Rev B Heatsink / 4gb DDR3-1600 RAM / nVidia 9800GT / Samsung F3 1tb HDD / Windows 7
(Laptop) Dell Vostro 1400 / Core 2 Duo T5670 1.8ghz / 2gb RAM / 8400M GS / 250gb HDD / Windows 7-Ubuntu Dual Boot
("Media Center" Desktop) Athlon X2 4000+ / 4gb RAM / nVidia 9400 / 250GB + 2TB HDD / Windows 7 Professional x64
trekkie00 is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 01:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Cheap + Dirty NAS

Use FreeNAS for the OS.
__________________

__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 09:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 203
Default Re: Cheap + Dirty NAS

Thanks, I'll definitely try that out.

I'm still kind of leery about the hardware aspect. Has anyone run a NAS with similar specs, or used a SATA card, and would be willing to note any problems they had?

Thanks.
__________________
Computers:
(Main Desktop) Phenom 2 X4 965 BE + Scythe Mugen 2 Rev B Heatsink / 4gb DDR3-1600 RAM / nVidia 9800GT / Samsung F3 1tb HDD / Windows 7
(Laptop) Dell Vostro 1400 / Core 2 Duo T5670 1.8ghz / 2gb RAM / 8400M GS / 250gb HDD / Windows 7-Ubuntu Dual Boot
("Media Center" Desktop) Athlon X2 4000+ / 4gb RAM / nVidia 9400 / 250GB + 2TB HDD / Windows 7 Professional x64
trekkie00 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.