Changing HDD to solve my problems? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2007, 01:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Default Changing HDD to solve my problems?

Hi,

I am running Windows XP and my problem is that it is extremely slow. Specially Start up of the computer takes ages. From when I turn the power on I have to wait over 5 minutes to have the computer up and running.

I recently (~6 months ago = recently for me. ) upgraded my computer and thought that my problems would be solved.

My system:
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 4600+
Graphics card: NVIDIA GeForce 7600GS
Memory: 2 X 1GB DDR2 SDRAM, 667 MHz ( PC2-5300 )

I have tried to remove spywares, defragmenting my HDDs, run cacheman, magic tweak, removed start-up programs , emptied the prefetch folder etc. Nothing seems to help.

What I am wondering is could it be my HDD. My C: drive is an old (I think about 2-3 years old)Samsung SpinpointDrive. I was thinking of changing it to a Western Digital Raptor. Could that make any difference?

Thanks for any advice.
__________________

HuppiHarri is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 01:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Changing HDD to solve my problems?

Welcome to Tech-Forums!

It could also be that your components aren't getting enough power from the PSU. What kind of a PSU do you have at the moment?
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 01:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Changing HDD to solve my problems?

!!!WELCOME TO TECH FORUMS!!!

firstly it would be a great idea to get that HD, they're very fast and reliabe, most poeple have them in a RAID setup,

getting to point: start>run>type msconfig in the dialog box>startup tab> disable all>restart your system

that should make a difference, it seems like you have run all the programs i would hyave recomened, formatting your HD is one idea, are you sure you dont have any viruses lurking around, your system is pretty good, im surprised its running slow,

hope that helps

^^^phucng you posted as i was writing
Nick is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 01:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: Changing HDD to solve my problems?

Don't ignore your ide cable, assuming that your hd is ide. I had this problem one time and it was the darn cable.
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 01:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Changing HDD to solve my problems?

I would say, SATA is much better for the Wire Management.

Back on topic : The IDE cable can be a cause of the problem at times but usually might be something wrong with your HDD. Changing your HDD will only be for the speed, but it's usually due to having too many programs or some start up programs that takes up a lot of memory usage. My XP only loads to about 3-1/2 bars and it comes into Windows.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 01:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Changing HDD to solve my problems?

IDE cables can be unreliable, my DVD drive wouldnt be recognised from time to time, replaced the cabela and whola works fine, i doubt a faulty IDE cable would make you system slow
Nick is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 01:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Changing HDD to solve my problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
IDE cables can be unreliable, my DVD drive wouldnt be recognised from time to time, replaced the cabela and whola works fine, i doubt a faulty IDE cable would make you system slow
Could be a start-up program. When I had that stupid AlienGuise program, or whatever it's called, my Splash Screen took about 5-6 bars to load. My sister's laptop takes about 10 bars to load. :snob:
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 01:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Changing HDD to solve my problems?

Thanks all!

About the Power Supply: It is an Antec TruePower Trio 430.

I think I should go for that HDD. Also, my second drive is SATA already and the C is IDE. Does not make any sense, I know.

Ind thanks for the welcome!
HuppiHarri is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 02:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Changing HDD to solve my problems?

That seems enough AMPs to power up your whole computer. Is your SATA HDD a slave?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 02:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Changing HDD to solve my problems?

how about getting a replacement master drive?
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with DVD Shaundale Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-25-2007 12:05 PM
problems viewing some webpages sehana Internet Software and Browsers 4 07-30-2007 03:41 PM
Multipule Problems smssoleimani Viruses, Spyware and Malware 14 06-11-2007 12:36 PM
AVG Free problems,, TomW Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-08-2007 09:08 AM
Some MacBooks May Have Battery Problems Osiris Apple and Mac 0 04-27-2007 05:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.