Changing CPU! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2015, 11:51 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Serbia
Posts: 37
Default Re: Changing CPU!

This videos make my point enojy!
__________________

Mare11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 12:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Changing CPU!

His CPU is slightly overclocked, and his frame rates are practically unplayable with his current settings. To get 45+ you'd need to play on the lowest of settings and at that, what's the point?

Also, I call total ******** on his videos. He's not running the hardware he claims because I made videos on Watch Dogs running different settings, different CPU core tests, and running a highly overclocked GTX 680 got between 50-60fps at 1080p. I also ran "theworse" mod to up my framerates using that other guys texture modified and it only granted me about 5fps. My average was about 50 with high textures, ultra settings, and DoF/Blur off. My VRAM was over 3GB and this guy is only at 1GB. My system RAM usage was also about 3.5GB and his isn't even around 3GB.

Don't believe everything you read or see on the internet. You got your 15% CPU figure off of CPU-World I'm betting and it's wrong. The Q9*** series was nothing more than a die shrink and clock increases. No architectural advantages to increase speed that far. Considering the fact that I've actually owned a Q8200 and Q9550 I might know a thing or two about them.

Bottom line here, I'm not telling you it won't work. Just don't expect miracles like that Youtuber. If he had a more powerful GPU in his claims it would be believable, but he lists a 650 which is pretty weak. My old overclocked 580 got only slightly higher frame rates than what he's claiming to get and it's more powerful than a 660, which is significantly more powerful than a 650.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 12:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Serbia
Posts: 37
Default Re: Changing CPU!

I am just not aiming ultra gaming on 1080p with my CPU that's my point and all new games are more demending on side of graphic card not processors . I belive this processor has power with good graphic card to play almost all games on atlest low . All tho I will not play all that demending games like BF4, Watchs Dogs, Far Cry 4 , Shadow of Mordor ... I am bulding this to play older games like Mafia 2, L.A. Noire, Alan wake and so on ..
Mare11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 12:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Changing CPU!

I wasn't denouncing that, and basically that's almost exactly what I said earlier. Any decent GPU with this CPU will grant playability but lower resolutions become more bottlenecked by the CPU. That was my point earlier. Games are extremely GPU dependent but look at this CPU usage on most. Almost 100% across the board.

LA Noire runs kind of like Max Payne 3, it loves CPU but isn't too graphically demanding so should be ok. Can't comment on Alan Wake, but Mafia 2 should be fine. It just all depends on what GPU you'll be using.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 12:53 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Serbia
Posts: 37
Default Re: Changing CPU!

I will get Nvidia GTX 460 Golden Sample 1Gb GDDR5 . What you think about that GPU in combo with CPU would that bring solid perfromance to the table on 1440x900 ?
Mare11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 12:58 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Changing CPU!

I used to have a GTX 465 back in the day, should be ok. GTX 460 is a little faster than the GTX 650 too.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 01:03 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Serbia
Posts: 37
Default Re: Changing CPU!

This site claims it's 39% not sure I used this site because I belive it most.
Nvidia GeForce GTX 650 1GB compare Nvidia GeForce GTX 460 GPU
Mare11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 01:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Changing CPU!

Only believe reputable review sites. Couldn't tell you what they say on where you linked because it's blocked at my job.

I hate Tom's, but this gives you a slight idea. 460 would be around 550ti.
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...rk,3297-7.html
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing RAM timings same thing as changing MHZ? Thresh Overclocking and Modding 28 09-16-2005 05:01 AM
Changing cpu fan help. Dark_Sniper* Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 04-17-2005 08:21 PM
Changing CPU and flashing it miss_kalel Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 14 03-24-2005 09:46 PM
Changing the CPU Core Voltage OIDanTheManIO Overclocking and Modding 15 12-02-2004 05:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.