Changing a CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2007, 01:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 30
Default Changing a CPU

Hey y'all,

Just need your help considering a problem with my comp

I am willing to take out my 3800+ AMD64 X 2 CPU and replace it with a
4200+ AMD64 X2 CPU...

Just wondering if it would work

I got 2gigs of ram and an MSI motherboard. Additionally i got 2 cd/dvd writer drivers and a X1300 pro Vid Card if of any concern

thanks for every reply
__________________

kustumb is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 02:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Camshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 58
Default Re: Changing a CPU

there would be almost no difference in performance
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4200
ASUS M2N - e
1gb A data DDR2 667
6600GT
CPU-Z Validator
Camshaft is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 03:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Changing a CPU

It would work, but as Camshaft said, theres no noticeable gain in performance. Just overclock your X2 3800+ 200MHz more, and you got yourself a X2 4200+. Plus you can overclock it, past 4200+ speeds.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 03:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Changing a CPU

theres no point sorry mate
Nick is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 03:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Changing a CPU

though if i were you i would get the 3600+
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ Brisbane 1.9GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor - OEM
plus a nice cooler. Basically this combo :
Newegg.com - Buy Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
The 3600+ can overclock all the way to 3ghz. That combo costs around $100 same as a 4200+ anyway.
darksideleader is offline  
Old 05-02-2007, 11:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 30
Default Re: Changing a CPU

thnx for the replies guys but just wondering the risks of overclocking a cpu...

Right now it runs at about 46-50 C* when im like doing nothing or virus scans and all that...

The system runs abit cooler like 40 Degrees C*

Like i was just wondering i dont want my computer keep on crashing every couple mins when im playing games or doing scans.... I have had a X550 ATI before so yea im used to crashes and hate them as much as i can....

A easy and reliable overclocking guide would be well appriciated

OH and i updates my mobo bios yesterday and something changed...

You know how when you press shut down computer from the start menu it come up with 3 selections? Standby-Restart and shut down? Now its coming up with a drop down menu and it also includes Hibernation-Log Off how can i make it so that it is the same as before?

Thanks alot guys
kustumb is offline  
Old 05-02-2007, 08:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,672
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Changing a CPU

I use teh majorgeeks guide. ummm, here'z a link to it
Overclocking Guide - MajorGeeks Support Forums
Thats where i first learnt to overclock.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 01:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 30
Default Re: Changing a CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
I use teh majorgeeks guide. ummm, here'z a link to it
Overclocking Guide - MajorGeeks Support Forums
Thats where i first learnt to overclock.
Did you have ANY troubles at all when you overclocked ure maching Soulphire?? and did u have any significant performance gains?
__________________

kustumb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mobo CPU fan changing tone smurph Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-20-2007 07:06 AM
Changing routers. BAD AI Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 11 04-06-2007 10:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.