Changing Cases... HELP! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2006, 06:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Question Changing Cases... HELP!

Hey, I just bought a new case today.
and everything was going well.
until i realized that the mother board had a plastic thing on the underside.
making it so that the screws dont reach the other side of the case.
i can push it down.
and it bends a little.
but that can't be good...
is it bad??
the case i had before had raised places to put the screws.
i need help!!
__________________

WHiTeSuMMeR is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 06:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

So, there's no packages that came with the case that have "nipples"? Those are the things you screw in the motherboard tray / case that you screw the motherboard into to levitate it off the tray / case.
__________________

__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 06:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Default

ummm.
....
i dont think i specifically looked.
let me check.....




omg!
They're there.
im dumb.
they're little metal things with a female side and a male side right???
WHiTeSuMMeR is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 06:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

You are correct. Screw them in then attach the motherboard to that. Good luck and come back if you need anymore help.

Also, don't forget to put those little washers on the screws when you're putting in the motherboard.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 07:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Default

new question...

how do i put on the i/o cover.
i think thats what its called.
i tried putting in the motherboard with the nipple things
then putting the cover on from the outside.
that didnt work.
then i tried to put the i/o cover on.
and then the mother board.
but that didnt work either!!!
WHiTeSuMMeR is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 07:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Ok, first of all, you can do either of these first. Install the new I/O plate or put the nipples in the tray/case, it doesn't matter which of those you do first. Make sure you put the nipples all in the correct holes depending on what style case and motherboard you have (e.g.: ATX, Micro ATX, etc.). Consult your case's manual for that. Also, to get out the I/O plate that came with the case, you either push it inwards or outwards. Look at it and see which way. Then just hit it with your fingers and it should fly out. After you know which way it goes out, put the motherboard's I/O plate in and press until it pops into place.

Now insert the motherboard into the case and properly align its screwholes with the nipples you put in earlier. Then simply screw it in and you should be ready to start installing other hardware and cables.

Edit: Oh, and as I said above, don't forget to put washers on the motherboard when you're screwing it in. If a screw makes contact with metal, the PC might not POST.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 07:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Default

but like...

i cant get the screw closest to the i/o plate into its hole because the i/o plate is in the way...
WHiTeSuMMeR is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 07:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Is it inserted properly? I don't see how it could be in the way if it's properly put into place. Just mess with it a bit until you can figure it out, or post a picture.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 07:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Default



see they dont line up



but the i/o plate is fine.
WHiTeSuMMeR is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 08:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Umm.. that first picture is so blurry I have no idea what's going on in it.

Is the problem with the 2nd one that your motherboard cannot get lined up with the I/O plate? Make sure that is the motherboard's I/O plate and not the one that came with the case if that's not the problem.
__________________

__________________
NathanM is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.