Celeron Processors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2006, 04:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Default Celeron Processors

I am looking at purchasing a Celeron D 2.4 Ghz processor and was wondering how it compared to other processors at 2.4 Ghz.

1. I know that a Pentium 4 at 2.4 Ghz is not as fast as one of AMD's processors at 2.8 Ghz. Where does the Celeron fit into all that?

2. Also, the one I am looking at buying only has a 256 KB L2 Cache . Will this make a big difference?

3. Celeron D means a dual core processor, correct? Like Pentium D means? Is the faster multitasking capability comparable to a Pentium 4 2.4 Ghz vs. a Pentium D 2.4 Ghz?

4. I am currently running a Celeron 1.8Ghz (not D); would the $40 be worth spending to upgrade? Thanks.
__________________

ldb88 is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 04:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

All i no is Celerons do not handle games that well, i use to have an intel celeron 1.7@2.05ghz and it did nfsmw but not well at all.
__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 04:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

celeron d does NOT mean dual core howver pentium d does mean dual core. I would not buy a celeron ..infact i wouldnt buy an intel proccesser at all ...amd for me!... but if you really want an intel go for a pentium d ( dual core) NOT A CELERON :-)
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 04:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Celeron's are cheap processors, which is why most companies like HP, Dell, and Acer use them. They are not very useful for gaming. My Celeron i use is Celeron D 2.6 Ghz. It doesn't play anything. Older games lag on it.

If you can afford it, i would recommend a Pentium 4. A Pentium 4 2.0 Ghz would outperform a Celeron 2.4 Ghz. And a Pentium 4 2.4 Ghz would outperform a Celeron 2.8, etc.

Celeron's are way slower than Pentium 4's, click this to see why:
http://www23.tomshardware.com/cpu_20...l2=33&chart=26
talldude123 is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 04:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

I was wondering when you'd show up talldude.. I was about to post 'round about the same thing you just said...

I have a 2.8 Cele that I use strictly for TF folding and when I do a virus/spyware scan at the same time... it shows... I will second talldude... go with a P4 chip.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 05:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Honestly, i used to love Celerons, but mine is starting to fry.

Stay away from Celerons, unless you're running a web server or TF folder.

Even a used P4 will get you some good power for games.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 05:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Why are Pentium D's dual-core, but Celeron D's arent?

Whats the D mean?!
The General is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 05:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 84
Default

As far as I can tell, Celeron D's are just Celerons with Prescott and Cedar Mill cores. A Celeron D CPU at 2.4 Ghz is pretty much the cheapest modern processor that you can buy. Any Pentium processor would be much better.
Ken11235 is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 05:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Celeron D just means higher FSB and cache. Intel just named it "D" for Desktop, i'm pretty sure. Because they have Celeron "M" in laptops, which is "mobile".
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.