Celeron or Pentium 2 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2007, 10:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default Re: Celeron or Pentium 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by joshd View Post
no... Slot A is the slot P2 and P3 chips.

The Pentium is the way to go. It should handle AOEII and Q2 just fine.
Slot A - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia


kthx
__________________

__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 02:58 AM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Celeron or Pentium 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
i think that 450 mhz pentium is really P3 NOT P2, but either way P3 is better..
Why ??

There are Pentium 2 that have clock speed of 600MHz
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 03:17 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Celeron or Pentium 2

The Celeron is at 600MHZ, and is in Socket 370, so I'd probably choose that.
Earlier Celerons were not far off their Pentium counterparts, clock for clock.
Plus, you could even upgrade to a Coppermine Pentium 3 if you wanted.
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshd View Post
no... Slot A is the slot P2 and P3 chips.
No, that's slot 1.
Slot A was for early Athlon's
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 05:38 AM   #14 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: Celeron or Pentium 2

I'd get the Celeron. You can still get a good PCI card if the board doesn't have AGP. Those games will run fine on either system.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pentium Dual core/Turion X2 JoshSB Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 06-02-2007 11:21 PM
Non-HT Pentium 4 processor on an HT-enabled motherboard piggysmile Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 06-01-2007 12:11 AM
Pentium 4 OCíd To 8180MHz Osiris Overclocking and Modding 32 05-31-2007 07:25 PM
Troubleshooting... Boot Up stuck on the pentium 4 screen CJohn75 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-18-2007 02:22 AM
Pentium E2100-series Benchmarks Revealed maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-05-2007 09:21 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.