Celeron D PC-FGA4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2006, 04:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 43
Default Celeron D PC-FGA4

im wondering it the Celeron D 330, will work on my motherboard?
my motherboard is Gigabyte GA_8SIMLNF. it says this on the readme thing that came with it,
Support for the Intel Pentium 4 FC-PGA2 processor in socket mPGA 478B.
Socket mPGA 478B
Supports Intel® Pentium 4™ FC-PGA2 processor
Does anyone know if the Celeron D will work on my motherboard? cause i dont have any money to really upgrade it
__________________

gully2005 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 02:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

It is a socket 478. It will run a Celeron D 330, unless you're talking about the 330J (which is a LGA775).
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 11:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 43
Default

yeah but its a new prescott core? will that make a difference, anybody know??
gully2005 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 11:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

It shouldn't.

It may need a BIOS update, at the most.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 01:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 43
Default

well i just asked the computer shop and they said my motherboard doesn't support it, and there are no bios updates for this piece of KRAP
gully2005 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.