CD/DVD Duplicator - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2006, 12:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 457
Send a message via MSN to SpikedCola
Default CD/DVD Duplicator

Im looking at building a CD/DVD duplicator since Im always asked to make n copies of a certain cd or something for our Jamaicans (I live on a farm). How much of a performance hit would I take running 2 dvd burners on one IDE channel, as opposed to one? Also, would running one dvd burner and one hard drive on the same channel hurt performance as well? Ive got an IDE RAID card lying around that Im going to use for two extra channels, and I want to rip the image then burn it from the hard drive, instead of on-the-fly.

Ive got some old computer parts lying around that Im going to use, aswell as build a custom plexi case for it for holding the burners. However, Ive only got an AMD K6/2+, Celeron 300/66, and a PII 350/100. Which would be the best to use?
__________________

__________________

Asus P5E | Q6600 | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 | BFG 8800GTS | 5x1.5TB SATA2 | 2x500GB SATA2 in RAID1
SpikedCola is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 09:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 457
Send a message via MSN to SpikedCola
Default

Bump.
__________________

__________________

Asus P5E | Q6600 | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 | BFG 8800GTS | 5x1.5TB SATA2 | 2x500GB SATA2 in RAID1
SpikedCola is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 11:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 457
Send a message via MSN to SpikedCola
Default

Bump
__________________

Asus P5E | Q6600 | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 | BFG 8800GTS | 5x1.5TB SATA2 | 2x500GB SATA2 in RAID1
SpikedCola is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 12:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

Your hardware will be the bottleneck, not the IDE cable. Go ahead and run them on one channel.

Dan
dipique is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 12:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

It will run fine, I copy games,dvds ( only for backups though 0.o) all the time. I have 2 dvd rw drives on 1 ide cable and a hd on the other cable works perfict same will go with the hd on the same cable with the rw
harley3344 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.