Cathode Light and PSU - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2006, 01:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
[snipped]

Your light should fit just fine. You might have to make it fit a little. Just be creative. The lights take hardly any power at all, so don't worry about power consumption.

Ryan
It is my Job to steer people away from bad power supplies.

Im only trying to help. In the end its not mu choice. But Id like to think I helped them.

Don't try and stop people from helping others.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 04:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

[snipped]

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 04:16 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I have better things to do then vote, and you should know this isn't a place to take you problems out on others.

Have a problem PM them, if a post isn't to help someone then you shouldn't post at all.

On the topic now: If your going to get cold cathodes I suggest buying a back up inverter just in case the other one melts or dies. This has happened twice to me. One time the Inverter just stoped working, the other time the insides melted.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 05:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to sarge52
Default

I'm a fan of xoxide.com. if cold cathodes are what you are looking at then check out http://xoxide.com/coldcathodes.html great place to mod up those cases out there! also, for power issues, check here http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v284/Sarge52/dbzsurge111.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\">
sarge52 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 06:21 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Ste. How can you throw lines out like these:
"you should know this isn't a place to take you problems out on others."

[snipped]

I bought my 2 12" cold cathode black lights off of newegg and couldn't be happier. They have inverters that allow for 2 lights so you only have to use a single inverter. I think they're 5 bucks plus 5 shipping. If you order 2, the shipping cost probably won't be a full 10 dollars. And you can't beat newegg's customer service.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 08:01 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

wow, you guys are wierd, anyway, you COULD if it isnt moldex just strip & solder the wires together
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 09:00 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

tobes i hope you meant wires on the inverter not the cathodes lol. yeah cathodes only draw a couple of watts. a word of advice though, don't remove the plastic tube. theres a wire that runs down the side of the cathode and its at about 550v-600v+
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 09:01 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

yep, lower reesistance makes it crazy, i called it moldex, lol
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 01:33 AM   #19 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

OK, listen up.

Enough of the personal attacks.

Consider this a warning. Any further flaming and insulting will be met with disciplinary action.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.